Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,035 Members 41,743 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

4.4.3 baseband messing up with TMo LTE

Tip us?
 
hormosapiens
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 150
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default 4.4.3 baseband messing up with TMo LTE

I updated my N5 to 4.4.3 through this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...persu-t2771010

could not wait for Google to update my N5.

My wife's N5 was updated through official ota.
We are both on TMobile. Same plan. Same zip code.

At home we use to have both LTE signal at 3 bars out of 4.

After the update I noticed this issue where both phones are connected to LTE but now we have 0 or 1 bar out of 4.

often I see No Network at all.

Changing to 3g or 2g will set the phone back on Edge or HSPA.

I think the new baseband messed it up.

Anyone else experiencing this issue on TMO with N5?

Any ideas?
Thanks
 
PsychDrummer
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 647
Join Date: Nov 2012
I noticed 0-2 bars of LTE at home but mine has always been like that.
 
AceKingNYC
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 114
Join Date: Sep 2012
i feel like i have less LTE bars than i did prior to the update. In some areas where I have always had LTE coverage, I have HSPA instead. At work I have less bars - I work very close to home (NYC, Manhattan) so i'm not sure if it a problem as a result of the update or service issues in the city - at least in my case.
 
SomeGuyDude
Old
#4  
SomeGuyDude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 208
Posts: 1,169
Join Date: Jun 2010
Bars and signal strength are not necessarily related. The bar is just telling you what the software is interpreting, there have been tons of signal bar hacks that make it more or less accurate.

What I will say is that the LTE drops are something I've seen before even when I paradoxically had "full bars" on LTE only to suddenly have my phone not actually displaying a connection and then it would, after a moment, drop to H+.
So punish me for weakness, blame me for everything.
I don't like suffering, I like the sympathy it brings.
 
habitformer
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 204
Posts: 568
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: daytona beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by hormosapiens View Post
I updated my N5 to 4.4.3 through this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...persu-t2771010

could not wait for Google to update my N5.

My wife's N5 was updated through official ota.
We are both on TMobile. Same plan. Same zip code.

At home we use to have both LTE signal at 3 bars out of 4.

After the update I noticed this issue where both phones are connected to LTE but now we have 0 or 1 bar out of 4.

often I see No Network at all.

Changing to 3g or 2g will set the phone back on Edge or HSPA.

I think the new baseband messed it up.

Anyone else experiencing this issue on TMO with N5?

Any ideas?
Thanks
Not to sound like a D1ck,But.(I feel your pain)...Finally someone else besides me having issues and I'm on sprint (insert jokes now)the same thing has happened to me my wife my dad my brother and his wife.All of our data handoffs from 3G/LTE hang.I/we have gotten worse LTE.You are not the only 1.I even adb fastbooted back to 4.4.2 to see if the difference is just in my head.It's not.4.4.2 gave me LTE back again.
 
hormosapiens
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 150
Join Date: Oct 2011
I am thinking to flash back the previous baseband. Anyone reversed back to the old radio but staying with 4.4.3? I can tell you that the battery life is better with 4.4.3.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
cookiehead2
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Are you seeing that the behavior of handoffs is different or are you losing your data connection more often than before?
 
hormosapiens
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 150
Join Date: Oct 2011
I am also seeing emergency calls only in some places like my job, where previously I had 3 bar lte. But at home it stays with 0 to 1bar very unstable. I am convinced is the new base band. Tmo told me to do a switch from 3G back to lte in network settings. After that didn't work they told me to do a full reset to factory settings. Thinking to flash back to . 23 radio.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
habitformer
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 204
Posts: 568
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: daytona beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiehead2 View Post
Are you seeing that the behavior of handoffs is different or are you losing your data connection more often than before?
Both. The hand off is so bad I can't even verbally describe it.My singal drop is so bad I want to smash my phone.(but I want cause I love my nexus devices as much as my kids)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more