Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 4.4.3 vs 4.4.2

OP tinhsoftware

10th June 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #11  
colorado_al's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I have found that the new dialer app is buggy. doesn't always show who is calling/history, etc.
I reverted to old dialer:
http://www.theandroidsoul.com/new-ph...er-id-feature/
15th June 2014, 12:16 PM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
i agree, the new dialer is just horrible. looks horrible and just feels broken, the usability of it is horrible and this "we only accept US numbers" thing is just ridiculous. it used to work and pull up where the area code originated at least. this "FU youre not american" attitude coming out of google is really, really beginning to piss me off
15th June 2014, 01:05 PM   |  #13  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,844
 
25,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2410

i agree, the new dialer is just horrible. looks horrible and just feels broken, the usability of it is horrible and this "we only accept US numbers" thing is just ridiculous. it used to work and pull up where the area code originated at least. this "FU youre not american" attitude coming out of google is really, really beginning to piss me off

Google starts all the products as US only first. It's always been like that.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th June 2014, 01:10 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Google starts all the products as US only first. It's always been like that.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

so?

i understand that different systems mean its sensible to start with one and go from there but there is no good reason to break things that worked. i mean who anywhere in google thought that slapping up the message "only works with US numbers" was in any possible way constructive or useful to anyone??????? if it doesnt work with the number then just have it do nothing for gods sake and just display the number.
15th June 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #15  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,844
 
25,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Gosh, you're so angry about this. Why not email Google and ask them?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th June 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
well yes i am annoyed. they went out of their way to break something. much like google wallet, where they actively work to not allow it to work outside the US.

its getting really tiresome
The Following User Says Thank You to mark2410 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 373
 
1,522 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tasty-xda

I've heard that the notification LED borks in the 4.4.3 update. Is that true even when using Lite Flow for notification monitoring & color assignment?

Before 4.4.3 my phone wouldn't blink the notification LED on occasion, it seemed to happen when the phone had been in deep sleep for prolonged periods of time.

However, since the update it hasn't missed any. So for my case the notification LED functionality seems to have been improved. However, it has never blinked for my missed calls either before or after the update. I just assume it's not meant to though I'd like it to, given the option.
Last edited by bblzd; 15th June 2014 at 10:56 PM.
15th June 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bblzd

Before 4.4.3 my phone wouldn't blink the notification LED on occasion, it seemed to happen when the phone had been in deep sleep for prolonged periods of time.

However, since the update it hasn't missed any. So for my case the notification LED functionality seems to have been improved. However, it has never blinked for my missed calls either before or after the update. I just assume it's not meant to though I'd like it to, given the option.

Ah. I've got mine set so that it will blink after a missed call, but not the VM in 4.4.2 via Light Flow.

I've got some time later tonight or tomorrow to play with it, may do a nandroid backup and flash it. Any problems with dropping the 4.4.3 full rom over top of a 4.4.2 install? I know google had a 74mb delta update, but I can't find that anywhere here so I'm using the next best option of the full rom...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes