Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,682 Members 42,304 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Accidentally wiped the system and now my Nexus 5 says No OS installed!

Tip us?
 
jd1639
Old
#21  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3070
Posts: 9,118
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by azuziel View Post
Someone else posted twrp default path as /sdcard/downloads - try that.
Twrp path is. /sdcard/twrp/BACKUPS/your serial number/

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
azuziel
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 250
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Twrp path is. /sdcard/twrp/BACKUPS/your serial number/

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Very well could be, i just pointed out what someone else posted earlier in the thread. If hes still unable to get twrp to recognize the image, figured he could try that. Im a cwm touch guy myself.
 
jd1639
Old
#23  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3070
Posts: 9,118
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by azuziel View Post
Very well could be, i just pointed out what someone else posted earlier in the thread. If hes still unable to get twrp to recognize the image, figured he could try that. Im a cwm touch guy myself.
I posted the other path. That was were to push a rom via adb to flash in recovery

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
jaj473
Old
#24  
jaj473's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 100
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vijayawada
Quote:
Originally Posted by thauri View Post
I wiped the system thinking it was part of the system factory reset in TWRP but i didnt know that it would result in it saying NO OS INSTALLED. i read other similar threads about this problem but dont exactly understand what to do and how to restore my phone. i have a nandroid backup but its on my pc and not the internal storage on the phone. im fairly new to this so those replying, please explain exactly what to do. Im so scared about what to do now

Try this.. it might help
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...77&postcount=1
 
thauri
Old
#25  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Take a new backup, then delete everything in the new backup folder and move everything from your old backop into the new backup folder,

So for example

Code:
Select Code
adb shell
mount /data
cd /data/media/0/TWRP/backups
ls
^^ This should list the contents... You should see your old backup and your new backup (which will be mostly empty).

Lets pretend your new backup folder is 22222222 and your old backup folder is 11111111

Code:
Select Code
rm -Rf 222222222/*
mv 111111111/* 222222222
The first command is a remove (recursive) of the contents of the new backup. second command mvs contents of old backup into new backup folder,

Try that.

I don't know TWRP so my assumptions of the path may be incorrect
Now when i tried creating a new backup but it says ' E: Unable to locate storage device.' and fails
 
rootSU
Old
#26  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10064
Posts: 21,193
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Try and fastboot flash a stock cache.img

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
paztine
Old
#27  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 42
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thumbs up usb/otg

[QUOTE=thauri;54093535]Now when i tried creating a new backup but it says ' E: Unable to locate storage device.' and fails[/

If you have an USB/OTG..Load the rom thru usb..Mount USB/OTG in TRWP..and flash away..This help me many times on my end..
 
thauri
Old
#28  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Try and fastboot flash a stock cache.img

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Thanks sooo much. I was able to adb side load another ROM then I deleted the entire twrp folder and tried to do a backup to recreate the folder, then I moved the old backup to that folder. Thank you soo much for saving my phone
 
rootSU
Old
#29  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10064
Posts: 21,193
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
No probs

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes