Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can I activate a T-Mobile Nexus 5 on Sprint?

OP devo3d

10th January 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 27
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
I have the opportunity to get a Nexus 5 that was on T-Mobile. Is it possible to activate it on Sprint. I'm not familiar with phones with dual bands therefore I don't know it it has to be an Official Sprint Nexus 5 to be activated on it.......Or, even better, can I flash it to Boost Mobile or is the T-mobile version strictly GSM?
10th January 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #2  
CRIME INC.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag HENDERSONVILLE
Thanks Meter: 1,956
 
3,226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Yes, you can activate the phone on any carrier. You'll need a LTE Sim card from sprint to activate it with them. There's no differences with the phones on any carrier

sent from my Hammerhead Nexus
The Following User Says Thank You to CRIME INC. For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2014, 06:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 27
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIME INC.

Yes, you can activate the phone on any carrier. You'll need a LTE Sim card from sprint to activate it with them. There's no differences with the phones on any carrier

sent from my Hammerhead Nexus

Thanks for the input, I'm not familiar with the LTE Sim but what would I do about the LTE Sim if I want it on Boost Mobile?
10th January 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #4  
CRIME INC.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag HENDERSONVILLE
Thanks Meter: 1,956
 
3,226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Contact boost and request one

sent from my Hammerhead Nexus
10th January 2014, 07:20 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 27
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIME INC.

Contact boost and request one

sent from my Hammerhead Nexus

Cool....I'll try it..Thanx Man!!
10th January 2014, 08:40 AM   |  #6  
Beauenheim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Meridian, Idaho
Thanks Meter: 89
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Carrier unlocked goodness here, this Nexus 5.
The Following User Says Thank You to Beauenheim For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 27
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beauenheim

Carrier unlocked goodness here, this Nexus 5.

Damn, I just missed out on the deal on the Nexus.....I'll have to find another one now..
10th January 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 27
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIME INC.

Contact boost and request one

sent from my Hammerhead Nexus

I contacted Boost and they said they don't have LTE Sim cards.....Hmmm.....will it work without one or will a Sprint one work in it while on Boost since its the same network?
10th January 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #9  
CRIME INC.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag HENDERSONVILLE
Thanks Meter: 1,956
 
3,226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Actually sprint may work. I'd ask them first though

sent from my Hammerhead Nexus

The Following User Says Thank You to CRIME INC. For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes