FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

ADB issue

18th June 2014, 04:16 AM |#11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
the adb push works fine in normal run. but none of the command seems to work during recovery.adb commands works fine even in fastboot mode
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	44
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	2804593  
 
 
18th June 2014, 06:46 AM |#12  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 17,483
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackuse

the adb push works fine in normal run. but none of the command seems to work during recovery.adb commands works fine even in fastboot mode

What recovery are you using? If you're using cwm, it mounts /sdcard incorrectly as /data/media instead of /data/media/0

Mount data and ls /data/media

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th June 2014, 10:54 PM |#13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

What recovery are you using? If you're using cwm, it mounts /sdcard incorrectly as /data/media instead of /data/media/0

Mount data and ls /data/media

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

YES i'm using CWM . "Mount data and ls /data/media" how do I do that
18th June 2014, 10:57 PM |#14  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 17,483
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackuse

YES i'm using CWM . "Mount data and ls /data/media" how do I do that

in recovery, go to "mounts and storage" and press "mount data".

Then in command prompt type
Code:
adb shell
to get into adb shell

Then type

Code:
ls /data/media
Thats LS in lower case and yes, it is case sensitive.

This will list the contents of /data/media - which is the location cwm uses as /sdcard. This hasn't been /sdcard since android 4.1.2 though.... I bet ls lists all those missing files you've been pushing.

This is one reason you should use either Philz or TWRP. Antiquated settings in CWM
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 11:02 PM |#15  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,676
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackuse

YES i'm using CWM . "Mount data and ls /data/media" how do I do that

Instead of push /sdcard use push /data/media

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 11:25 PM |#16  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 17,483
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Instead of push /sdcard use push /data/media

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thats the same.. push /data/media/0

Although just change recovery from cwm and continue to use /sdcard

Otherwise Nandroid backups will go missing too

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 04:25 AM |#17  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Thats the same.. push /data/media/0

Although just change recovery from cwm and continue to use /sdcard

Otherwise Nandroid backups will go missing too

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

i tried out lots of adb push commands and finally understood "/sdcard/" which is supposed to be "/data/media/0/" is still "/data/media/ in CWM and yes all my CWM nanodroid backups are located in "data/media/CWM". how do i permanently make CWM to use "/data/media/0/" for sdcard

and i assume adb reboot does not work in recovery mode
19th June 2014, 06:51 AM |#18  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 17,483
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackuse

i tried out lots of adb push commands and finally understood "/sdcard/" which is supposed to be "/data/media/0/" is still "/data/media/ in CWM and yes all my CWM nanodroid backups are located in "data/media/CWM". how do i permanently make CWM to use "/data/media/0/" for sdcard

and i assume adb reboot does not work in recovery mode

You can't with cwm. Use philz or twrp though twrp won't be compatible with your existing backups.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes