Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Auto Rotate not working?

OP Jaybot

13th January 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Hi all, I just noticed that my auto rotate isn't working anymore. I was using a custom rom, but reverted back to stock just to make sure everything would be alright, but it still isn't working on my stock rom. I downloaded "Phone Tester" from the app store, and when I check to see if it's working, it says that my device has no accelerator, compass, light sensor, etc...

What's going on here? It was working fine a couple of days ago.

Edit, when I go to the Phone Tester app, it says that I don't have:

- Accelerometer
- Compass
- Magnetic Field Sensor
- Proximity Sensor
- Light Sensor
- Gyroscope
- Pressure Sensor
- Humidity Sensor
Last edited by Jaybot; 13th January 2014 at 05:04 AM.
14th January 2014, 01:46 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
bump
13th February 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #3  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,077
 
945 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Having your same issue. It worked once when I flashed a new rom but then I rebooted and it stopped working. I went back to stock but that didn't help either.
14th February 2014, 12:23 AM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,008
 
11,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by neriamarillo

Having your same issue. It worked once when I flashed a new rom but then I rebooted and it stopped working. I went back to stock but that didn't help either.

If you flashed the factory image and it's still not working then it's most likely a hardware issue.
14th February 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,639
 
3,977 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
I remember soon after the N5 was launched there was a barometer app that was crashing all of the sensors. Maybe this is still an issue?
14th February 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #6  
farsight73's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 157
 
967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

I remember soon after the N5 was launched there was a barometer app that was crashing all of the sensors. Maybe this is still an issue?


I have barometer installed and working since day 1 I bought the phone.. I would assume the OP problem is an isolated issue that somehow crashed all the sensors.

Most possibility is factory hardware defect.. or .. somehow the phone was at affected by strong magnatic/radiation field area that caused those sensors broken.
15th February 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #7  
fatspirit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Murmansk
Thanks Meter: 183
 
909 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Having the same issue.
16th February 2014, 12:38 PM   |  #8  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,077
 
945 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
So I figured something out today. I flashed the stock image for 4.4, (not 4.4.2 like i had previously), and everything works perfectly fine! Now if I take the OTA for 4.4.2 it stops working once again. So now I have no idea what to do lol since I know its not necessarily a hardware issue but more of a software issue. Another thing is while on 4.4.2 if I open GPS Status & Toolbox app to check the GPS or sensors the phone soft reboots but the app never opens.
17th February 2014, 06:15 AM   |  #9  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,077
 
945 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
This is definitively a software issue somewhere. Its been working perfectly fine all day on stock 4.4
I will try and see if I can find what's changing or getting updated when you do the update to 4.4.2.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes