Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,690 Members 47,073 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Auto Rotate not working?

Tip us?
 
Jaybot
Old
(Last edited by Jaybot; 13th January 2014 at 04:04 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] Auto Rotate not working?

Hi all, I just noticed that my auto rotate isn't working anymore. I was using a custom rom, but reverted back to stock just to make sure everything would be alright, but it still isn't working on my stock rom. I downloaded "Phone Tester" from the app store, and when I check to see if it's working, it says that my device has no accelerator, compass, light sensor, etc...

What's going on here? It was working fine a couple of days ago.

Edit, when I go to the Phone Tester app, it says that I don't have:

- Accelerometer
- Compass
- Magnetic Field Sensor
- Proximity Sensor
- Light Sensor
- Gyroscope
- Pressure Sensor
- Humidity Sensor
 
Jaybot
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jun 2010
bump
 
neriamarillo
Old
#3  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 488
Posts: 733
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Having your same issue. It worked once when I flashed a new rom but then I rebooted and it stopped working. I went back to stock but that didn't help either.
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3037
Posts: 9,042
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by neriamarillo View Post
Having your same issue. It worked once when I flashed a new rom but then I rebooted and it stopped working. I went back to stock but that didn't help either.
If you flashed the factory image and it's still not working then it's most likely a hardware issue.
 
El Daddy
Old
#5  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3683
Posts: 3,501
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roseville, MN
I remember soon after the N5 was launched there was a barometer app that was crashing all of the sensors. Maybe this is still an issue?
 
farsight73
Old
#6  
farsight73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 952
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Selangor
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy View Post
I remember soon after the N5 was launched there was a barometer app that was crashing all of the sensors. Maybe this is still an issue?

I have barometer installed and working since day 1 I bought the phone.. I would assume the OP problem is an isolated issue that somehow crashed all the sensors.

Most possibility is factory hardware defect.. or .. somehow the phone was at affected by strong magnatic/radiation field area that caused those sensors broken.
=======================================
Nexus 5: 312K: Running stock deodexed 4.4.4 with ElementalX kernel

=======================================
Transformer TF101(B60): Kitkat-Katkiss 4.4.4
System Speed: Overclock Dual Core 1400Ghz


=======================================
 
fatspirit
Old
#7  
fatspirit's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 810
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murmansk
Having the same issue.
fat spirit of little spaceman / nexus 5 / stock / root / xposed / franco / philz
 
neriamarillo
Old
#8  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 488
Posts: 733
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Miami, FL
So I figured something out today. I flashed the stock image for 4.4, (not 4.4.2 like i had previously), and everything works perfectly fine! Now if I take the OTA for 4.4.2 it stops working once again. So now I have no idea what to do lol since I know its not necessarily a hardware issue but more of a software issue. Another thing is while on 4.4.2 if I open GPS Status & Toolbox app to check the GPS or sensors the phone soft reboots but the app never opens.
 
neriamarillo
Old
#9  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 488
Posts: 733
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Miami, FL
This is definitively a software issue somewhere. Its been working perfectly fine all day on stock 4.4
I will try and see if I can find what's changing or getting updated when you do the update to 4.4.2.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more