5,597,198 Members 43,670 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Why is this and are they aware of it?

Tip us?
 
venom_762
Old
#1  
venom_762's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 358
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Why is this and are they aware of it?

I live .7 miles from a 4G LTE tower and get full coverage on both my galaxy nexus devices and moto x. These are the screen shot of my new Nexus 5 the normal signal is on 4.4 and the horid is on 4.4.2. I have tried flashing three times all with same results. Or can I just flash the radio
or is this a OS issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4.4.JPG
Views:	1128
Size:	35.6 KB
ID:	2557696   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.4.2.JPG
Views:	1191
Size:	35.6 KB
ID:	2557697  
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,235
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by venom_762 View Post
I live .7 miles from a 4G LTE tower and get full coverage on both my galaxy nexus devices and moto x. These are the screen shot of my new Nexus 5 the normal signal is on 4.4 and the horid is on 4.4.2. I have tried flashing three times all with same results. Or can I just flash the radio
or is this a OS issue.
Signals fluctuate often. Hard to pinpoint an issue just from a little bit of testing, though does seem odd. Can't say I'm shocked when I hear Sprint service not working well for some reason or another. You can try a different modem here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2514095
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s and check out my site: http://mobilemojo5280.com for more info!


HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / ?
 
venom_762
Old
#3  
venom_762's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 358
Join Date: Aug 2010
Its not a service issue its a device issue, I have tried two Nexus 5's and both have lousy signal and regain it when flashing back to 4.4.
 
El Daddy
Old
#4  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2641
Posts: 3,109
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roseville, MN
It's was talked about quite a bit after 4.4.2 was launched that people were facing signal issues with the radio packed with 4.4.2. Some people flashed back to the 4.4 radio and reported improvement. Personally, I haven't seen a difference.

If you want you can flash the 4.4 radio and see if it improves your signal.
 
venom_762
Old
#5  
venom_762's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 358
Join Date: Aug 2010
I just rooted and flashed the KRT16M and it made a huge improvment.
 
GooGooMuck
Old
#6  
GooGooMuck's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
You can just flash the modem from 4.4 to use with 4.4.2. All the benefits of the updated firmware with the radio performance of the old modem.
 
MrObvious
Old
#7  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 1,807
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
I went to the .15 radio tonight and it seemed to help some. Plus remember the radio is a triband radio unlike your other two phones.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...