Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,443 Members 47,543 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Radio Not Turning On?

Tip us?
 
Taimur Akmal
Old
#1  
Taimur Akmal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lahore
Arrow [Q] Radio Not Turning On?

I am having this issue since day one. I bought the Nexus primarily for testing out the developer preview. I flashed to it, everything worked fine. But as soon as I entered my sim and restarted, phone turns it's radio off and displays "Please turn off Airplane mode to place a call" when dialing a number and displays no service.

Also through the code "*#*#4636#*#*", I noticed I couldn't turn on the radio through the "Turn On Radio" button. Whenever I press it, nothing happens.

If someone can help with this, then that be great!
Screenshot
Powered By Cosmic Notion
Hit Thanks Button If I helped you!
"Winners Never Quit, Quitters Never Win
Never Give Up, Never Give In"
Follow me on Twitter | Facebook
 
Lethargy
Old
#2  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,373
Posts: 2,588
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Flash factory images of KK and see if you still have the problem.

Buying a Nexus 5 purely for the developer preview.. lol
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.
 
Taimur Akmal
Old
#3  
Taimur Akmal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy View Post
Flash factory images of KK and see if you still have the problem.

Buying a Nexus 5 purely for the developer preview.. lol
Sorry, I should have mentioned in the OP, I have tried every factory image available for the Nexus 5. Nothing changes. Even tried relocking the bootloader and unlocking it. No clue what is wrong. :-/
Powered By Cosmic Notion
Hit Thanks Button If I helped you!
"Winners Never Quit, Quitters Never Win
Never Give Up, Never Give In"
Follow me on Twitter | Facebook
 
SolarTrans
Old
(Last edited by SolarTrans; 26th July 2014 at 09:19 AM.)
#4  
SolarTrans's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 231
Posts: 969
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oregon
Very strange... Do you have another SIM card to try? Not sure if it would make a difference, but it's worth a shot.
Edit: Haha I thought I was the only one crazy enough to consider getting a Nexus 5 just for the Dev preview XD
I didn't go through with it though.
...Not yet anyways :P

Sent from my HTC One M8 Developer Edition using Tapatalk
iPhone 2G-5 (AT&T)
HTC One M7 (64GB, Developer Edition)
Galaxy S4 (16GB, AT&T)
Galaxy S4 (16GB, Google Play Edition)
Nexus 5 (32GB, White)
iPhone 5s (64GB, AT&T)
OnePlus One (64GB)
Sony Z Ultra (Google Play Edition)
iPad mini with Retina Display (128GB, AT&T LTE)
HTC One M8 (32GB, Google Play Edition)
LG G3 Cat. 6 (32GB, White)
LG G Watch (Black)
 
Taimur Akmal
Old
#5  
Taimur Akmal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarTrans View Post
Very strange... Do you have another SIM card to try? Not sure if it would make a difference, but it's worth a shot.
Edit: Haha I thought I was the only one crazy enough to consider getting a Nexus 5 just for the Dev preview XD
I didn't go through with it though.
...Not yet anyways :P

Sent from my HTC One M8 Developer Edition using Tapatalk
I am not regretting my purchase. Love the phone on Android L. Just that if the phone functionality worked.... xD Anyways, I have a secondary phone in use now. Plus yeah, tried other SIMs. Same issue. :-/
Powered By Cosmic Notion
Hit Thanks Button If I helped you!
"Winners Never Quit, Quitters Never Win
Never Give Up, Never Give In"
Follow me on Twitter | Facebook
 
SolarTrans
Old
#6  
SolarTrans's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 231
Posts: 969
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taimur Akmal View Post
I am not regretting my purchase. Love the phone on Android L. Just that if the phone functionality worked.... xD Anyways, I have a secondary phone in use now. Plus yeah, tried other SIMs. Same issue. :-/
Huh must be a hardware defect then.
Are you considering an RMA?
Oh, and do you think I should go ahead with my idea to buy one for Android L (was it worth it)?

Sent from my HTC One M8 Developer Edition using Tapatalk
iPhone 2G-5 (AT&T)
HTC One M7 (64GB, Developer Edition)
Galaxy S4 (16GB, AT&T)
Galaxy S4 (16GB, Google Play Edition)
Nexus 5 (32GB, White)
iPhone 5s (64GB, AT&T)
OnePlus One (64GB)
Sony Z Ultra (Google Play Edition)
iPad mini with Retina Display (128GB, AT&T LTE)
HTC One M8 (32GB, Google Play Edition)
LG G3 Cat. 6 (32GB, White)
LG G Watch (Black)
 
P4R
Old
#7  
P4R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 271
Posts: 119
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Alicante

 
DONATE TO ME
If flash factory image don't work, tray other SIM, if don't work use warranty.
 
Taimur Akmal
Old
#8  
Taimur Akmal's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 345
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarTrans View Post
Huh must be a hardware defect then.
Are you considering an RMA?
Oh, and do you think I should go ahead with my idea to buy one for Android L (was it worth it)?

Sent from my HTC One M8 Developer Edition using Tapatalk
No RMA. I would recommend you wait for the final release. I don't wanna blame Google neither I am sure but I think Android L messed up my Radio in the first place. So yeah, wait for release and try to see if the final one has it all sorted.
Powered By Cosmic Notion
Hit Thanks Button If I helped you!
"Winners Never Quit, Quitters Never Win
Never Give Up, Never Give In"
Follow me on Twitter | Facebook

The Following User Says Thank You to Taimur Akmal For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes