FORUMS

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Black Screen after I modify bootanimation

14th February 2014, 06:59 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,
I am using Nexus 5(rooted). I was trying to customize a boot animate myself. However, it shows nothing after I modified it.
For now, it will show only black screen after the White Google logo with unlock.
I don't know how to fix phone now, screen show nothing. System should be fine. the screen lock is working because I hear the screen lock sound, and I can unlock it. I have the original bootanimation.zip. I can get in the MTP drive when I connect it to my computer . However, I remember the USB debugging mode is off. Is there any way to fix it through computer? Bootloader is working on phone
Thanks
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 07:04 AM.
 
 
14th February 2014, 07:05 AM |#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 17,459
 
More
If you have custom recovery, boot into it and adb push

Bootanimation black is common if image is incorrect bit depth. Never heard of it making the rom black too. How long have you left it on for to check?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
14th February 2014, 07:20 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

If you have custom recovery, boot into it and adb push

Bootanimation black is common if image is incorrect bit depth. Never heard of it making the rom black too. How long have you left it on for to check?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

10 mins already =(
I did the system back up after I root the nexus 5. is this the custom recovery?
Would you mind tell me more how to do it? Thanks a lot. I just start to use android =(.
I can get in recovery mode, but there is nothing in "restore" section.
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 08:11 AM.
14th February 2014, 08:52 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I tried to use "wipe" --> "advanced wipe" -->"system" to fix it on fastboot boarder. And, now it stucks at White Google logo. Not even get in to system now.. Help
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 09:01 AM.
14th February 2014, 09:23 AM |#5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,559
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan1600

I tried to use "wipe" --> "advanced wipe" -->"system" to fix it on fastboot boarder. And, now it stucks at White Google logo. Not even get in to system now.. Help

You have no OS now you wiped system, either push or sideload a custom rom or flash the stock image.
Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 09:27 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 09:35 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok. Fixed. Thank you for helping all =D
I downloaded the rom here and put it in USB
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2557523
and then mount it --> install--> install the rom =D done
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 09:46 AM.
14th February 2014, 09:42 AM |#7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,559
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan1600

Ok. Fixed.
I downloaded the rom here and put it in USB
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2557523
and then mount it --> install--> install the rom =D done

Oke, glad you fixed it
14th February 2014, 01:34 PM |#8  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hull
Thanks Meter: 687
 
More
Bit depth is important when making your own boot images. I don't know if it's changed since donut 1.6 but back then you could not compress the zip either or you would end up with a solid black animation.
If you use 7zip you set compression level to store

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes