Note 4 CM12 Nightlies, Microsoft Investing in Cyanogen – XDA TV

CyanogenMod 12 Nightlies are now available for the Samsung Galaxy Note … more

Stylish Black Azure Theme for CM12

This black, grey and blue goodness will make your CM12 pop with cold contrast and neat transparencies. If … more

Smart Lock for Chrome Now Available for Chromebooks

Android 5.0 Lollipop introduced a useful feature titled Smart Lock, which kept your … more

Alibaba Breathes New Life Into Game-Console Maker Ouya

After asuccessful KickStarter campaign, Android console Ouya failed to become a … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Black Screen after I modify bootanimation

OP chan1600

14th February 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hi,
I am using Nexus 5(rooted). I was trying to customize a boot animate myself. However, it shows nothing after I modified it.
For now, it will show only black screen after the White Google logo with unlock.
I don't know how to fix phone now, screen show nothing. System should be fine. the screen lock is working because I hear the screen lock sound, and I can unlock it. I have the original bootanimation.zip. I can get in the MTP drive when I connect it to my computer . However, I remember the USB debugging mode is off. Is there any way to fix it through computer? Bootloader is working on phone
Thanks
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 08:04 AM.
14th February 2014, 08:05 AM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 14,602
 
26,061 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
If you have custom recovery, boot into it and adb push

Bootanimation black is common if image is incorrect bit depth. Never heard of it making the rom black too. How long have you left it on for to check?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
14th February 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

If you have custom recovery, boot into it and adb push

Bootanimation black is common if image is incorrect bit depth. Never heard of it making the rom black too. How long have you left it on for to check?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

10 mins already =(
I did the system back up after I root the nexus 5. is this the custom recovery?
Would you mind tell me more how to do it? Thanks a lot. I just start to use android =(.
I can get in recovery mode, but there is nothing in "restore" section.
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 09:11 AM.
14th February 2014, 09:52 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I tried to use "wipe" --> "advanced wipe" -->"system" to fix it on fastboot boarder. And, now it stucks at White Google logo. Not even get in to system now.. Help
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 10:01 AM.
14th February 2014, 10:23 AM   |  #5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,360
 
9,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan1600

I tried to use "wipe" --> "advanced wipe" -->"system" to fix it on fastboot boarder. And, now it stucks at White Google logo. Not even get in to system now.. Help

You have no OS now you wiped system, either push or sideload a custom rom or flash the stock image.
Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 10:27 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 10:35 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Ok. Fixed. Thank you for helping all =D
I downloaded the rom here and put it in USB
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2557523
and then mount it --> install--> install the rom =D done
Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 10:46 AM.
14th February 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,360
 
9,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan1600

Ok. Fixed.
I downloaded the rom here and put it in USB
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2557523
and then mount it --> install--> install the rom =D done

Oke, glad you fixed it
14th February 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #8  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hull
Thanks Meter: 644
 
1,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Bit depth is important when making your own boot images. I don't know if it's changed since donut 1.6 but back then you could not compress the zip either or you would end up with a solid black animation.
If you use 7zip you set compression level to store

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes