Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,951 Members 52,720 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Black Screen after I modify bootanimation

Tip us?
 
chan1600
Old
(Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 07:04 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Black Screen after I modify bootanimation

Hi,
I am using Nexus 5(rooted). I was trying to customize a boot animate myself. However, it shows nothing after I modified it.
For now, it will show only black screen after the White Google logo with unlock.
I don't know how to fix phone now, screen show nothing. System should be fine. the screen lock is working because I hear the screen lock sound, and I can unlock it. I have the original bootanimation.zip. I can get in the MTP drive when I connect it to my computer . However, I remember the USB debugging mode is off. Is there any way to fix it through computer? Bootloader is working on phone
Thanks
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10649
Posts: 21,760
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
If you have custom recovery, boot into it and adb push

Bootanimation black is common if image is incorrect bit depth. Never heard of it making the rom black too. How long have you left it on for to check?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
chan1600
Old
(Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 08:11 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
If you have custom recovery, boot into it and adb push

Bootanimation black is common if image is incorrect bit depth. Never heard of it making the rom black too. How long have you left it on for to check?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
10 mins already =(
I did the system back up after I root the nexus 5. is this the custom recovery?
Would you mind tell me more how to do it? Thanks a lot. I just start to use android =(.
I can get in recovery mode, but there is nothing in "restore" section.
 
chan1600
Old
(Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 09:01 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2011
I tried to use "wipe" --> "advanced wipe" -->"system" to fix it on fastboot boarder. And, now it stucks at White Google logo. Not even get in to system now.. Help
 
gee2012
Old
(Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 09:27 AM.)
#5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2920
Posts: 8,024
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan1600 View Post
I tried to use "wipe" --> "advanced wipe" -->"system" to fix it on fastboot boarder. And, now it stucks at White Google logo. Not even get in to system now.. Help
You have no OS now you wiped system, either push or sideload a custom rom or flash the stock image.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chan1600
Old
(Last edited by chan1600; 14th February 2014 at 09:46 AM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2011
Ok. Fixed. Thank you for helping all =D
I downloaded the rom here and put it in USB
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2557523
and then mount it --> install--> install the rom =D done
 
gee2012
Old
#7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2920
Posts: 8,024
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan1600 View Post
Ok. Fixed.
I downloaded the rom here and put it in USB
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2557523
and then mount it --> install--> install the rom =D done
Oke, glad you fixed it
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
 
Alex240188
Old
#8  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 634
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hull
Bit depth is important when making your own boot images. I don't know if it's changed since donut 1.6 but back then you could not compress the zip either or you would end up with a solid black animation.
If you use 7zip you set compression level to store

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more

Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more