Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 52,272 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bootanimation isnt working

Tip us?
 
DaPutzy
Old
(Last edited by DaPutzy; 3rd February 2014 at 12:56 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Phone [Q] Bootanimation isnt working

Hi,

first of all: english is not my main language so pls be gentle! I also hate writing capital letters, so deal with it or gtfo

I'm using a Google Nexus 5 (big surprise) which is rooted. As far as I know boot animations belong into /system/media and are supposed to be an uncompressed zip.

The content should lool like this:
  • a folder called part0 (and if u want many more part1, part2 etc.) which contains pictures which should be called sth. like 001.png/jpg
  • a file called "desc.txt" which contains resolution, fps and how often which folder should be played, looks sth like this: "270 480 20p 0 0 part0"

I found a gif on 9gag (9gag.com/gag/azbG7yN) which I tryd getting into a boot animation. I resized all pictures to one size and did everything I could but didnt get it working.

A few hours later i found this Thread on reddit (reddit.com/r/jailbreak/comments/1wc9qw/mutha****in_request_fulfilled_to_whoever_wanted/cf0npe4) where u can find this gif (i.imgur.com/neYbN4t.gif) and even a .zip (dropbox.com/s/8efy1j7hzuzev2s/GlitchyAndroid.zip) which contains alle the single pictures. I tryd again making a working animation but it looks like I'm to damn stupid for it, I will upload my try and hopefilly someone can tell me where my goddamn mistake is.

Sincerly,
DaPutzy

EDIT: I forgot to say that I downloaded other animations which worked correctly, so its definitely my fault!
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (365.7 KB, 5 views)
 
jd1639
Old
(Last edited by jd1639; 3rd February 2014 at 01:12 AM.)
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3046
Posts: 9,068
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Did you set the files permissions to rw-r-r
Edit, not sure what the animation is supposed to be bit it's just "Google"
 
DaPutzy
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Did you set the files permissions to rw-r-r
Yes. I also though this was my mistake but as far as I know it doesnt even make a difference. But yes i did.
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3046
Posts: 9,068
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaPutzy View Post
Yes. I also though this was my mistake but as far as I know it doesnt even make a difference. But yes i did.
I looked at the zip. Usually there is a part 0 and a part 1 and they're .png files
 
DaPutzy
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
I looked at the zip. Usually there is a part 1 and a part 2 and they're .png files
I tryd other animations with .jpg and .png, they all worked! Do I need more then 1 folder? Is this a must have?? I though I only need one to get it working?

Sinc. DaPutzy
 
jd1639
Old
(Last edited by jd1639; 3rd February 2014 at 01:26 AM.)
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3046
Posts: 9,068
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaPutzy View Post
I tryd other animations with .jpg and .png, they all worked! Do I need more then 1 folder? Is this a must have?? I though I only need one to get it working?

Sinc. DaPutzy
I don't know, I've never created a boot animation
Edit, check your desc.txt. it looks different than what I've seen before.
 
DaPutzy
Old
(Last edited by DaPutzy; 3rd February 2014 at 02:01 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
I don't know, I've never created a boot animation
Edit, check your desc.txt. it looks different than what I've seen before.
How about this?

EDIT: Now im getting a white screen followed by a black one,.. then booting is done.
PS: Nexus 5 got a 1080x1920 screen, but can I use every pixel while booting?

EDIT: I used Boot Animation Factory (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1678540) this time and it says "Your boot animation contains frames that have indexed colors...." I understand the meaning of this but i have to google how I can change this. At least i got a real Error message for the first time

Quote:
Common mistakes that people make:
-Wrong compression method: you MUST set the compression method to Store!
-Missing empty line at the end of the desc.txt file: an empty line is needed! Otherwise, the boot animation won't work!
-Frames drawn in wrong color mode: you MUST draw your frames in RGB 8bit or RGB 16bit COLOR MODE!
Oh man why didnt i find that earlier...
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.16 MB, 4 views)
 
DaPutzy
Old
(Last edited by DaPutzy; 3rd February 2014 at 03:33 AM.)
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
YES BABY! I got it! Its working as planed, here it is!

Sinc. DaPutzy

EDIT: I will make it perfect and then I'll post it again.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more