Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Bootanimation isnt working

OP DaPutzy

3rd February 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hi,

first of all: english is not my main language so pls be gentle! I also hate writing capital letters, so deal with it or gtfo

I'm using a Google Nexus 5 (big surprise) which is rooted. As far as I know boot animations belong into /system/media and are supposed to be an uncompressed zip.

The content should lool like this:
  • a folder called part0 (and if u want many more part1, part2 etc.) which contains pictures which should be called sth. like 001.png/jpg
  • a file called "desc.txt" which contains resolution, fps and how often which folder should be played, looks sth like this: "270 480 20p 0 0 part0"

I found a gif on 9gag (9gag.com/gag/azbG7yN) which I tryd getting into a boot animation. I resized all pictures to one size and did everything I could but didnt get it working.

A few hours later i found this Thread on reddit (reddit.com/r/jailbreak/comments/1wc9qw/mutha****in_request_fulfilled_to_whoever_wanted/cf0npe4) where u can find this gif (i.imgur.com/neYbN4t.gif) and even a .zip (dropbox.com/s/8efy1j7hzuzev2s/GlitchyAndroid.zip) which contains alle the single pictures. I tryd again making a working animation but it looks like I'm to damn stupid for it, I will upload my try and hopefilly someone can tell me where my goddamn mistake is.

Sincerly,
DaPutzy

EDIT: I forgot to say that I downloaded other animations which worked correctly, so its definitely my fault!
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (365.7 KB, 5 views)
Last edited by DaPutzy; 3rd February 2014 at 01:56 AM.
3rd February 2014, 02:03 AM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
10,866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Did you set the files permissions to rw-r-r
Edit, not sure what the animation is supposed to be bit it's just "Google"
Last edited by jd1639; 3rd February 2014 at 02:12 AM.
3rd February 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Did you set the files permissions to rw-r-r

Yes. I also though this was my mistake but as far as I know it doesnt even make a difference. But yes i did.
3rd February 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
10,866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaPutzy

Yes. I also though this was my mistake but as far as I know it doesnt even make a difference. But yes i did.

I looked at the zip. Usually there is a part 0 and a part 1 and they're .png files
3rd February 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

I looked at the zip. Usually there is a part 1 and a part 2 and they're .png files

I tryd other animations with .jpg and .png, they all worked! Do I need more then 1 folder? Is this a must have?? I though I only need one to get it working?

Sinc. DaPutzy
3rd February 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
10,866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaPutzy

I tryd other animations with .jpg and .png, they all worked! Do I need more then 1 folder? Is this a must have?? I though I only need one to get it working?

Sinc. DaPutzy

I don't know, I've never created a boot animation
Edit, check your desc.txt. it looks different than what I've seen before.
Last edited by jd1639; 3rd February 2014 at 02:26 AM.
3rd February 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

I don't know, I've never created a boot animation
Edit, check your desc.txt. it looks different than what I've seen before.

How about this?

EDIT: Now im getting a white screen followed by a black one,.. then booting is done.
PS: Nexus 5 got a 1080x1920 screen, but can I use every pixel while booting?

EDIT: I used Boot Animation Factory (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1678540) this time and it says "Your boot animation contains frames that have indexed colors...." I understand the meaning of this but i have to google how I can change this. At least i got a real Error message for the first time

Quote:

Common mistakes that people make:
-Wrong compression method: you MUST set the compression method to Store!
-Missing empty line at the end of the desc.txt file: an empty line is needed! Otherwise, the boot animation won't work!
-Frames drawn in wrong color mode: you MUST draw your frames in RGB 8bit or RGB 16bit COLOR MODE!

Oh man why didnt i find that earlier...
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.16 MB, 4 views)
Last edited by DaPutzy; 3rd February 2014 at 03:01 AM.
3rd February 2014, 03:23 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
YES BABY! I got it! Its working as planed, here it is!

Sinc. DaPutzy

EDIT: I will make it perfect and then I'll post it again.
Last edited by DaPutzy; 3rd February 2014 at 04:33 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes