Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Bootloader version discrepancy

OP crackmulah

8th April 2014, 06:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I have an issue that prevents me from flashing new CM roms - when ever i try to flash one i get an error that includes:
assert failed: getprop ("ro bootloader") == "HHZ11k"
i have gotten around this by editing the updatescript of the rom .zip to match my bootloader version: HHZ11d

So...whats going on here? Why did my bootloader change, or did I miss an update somewhere along the way? I would like to fix this so I dont have to keep editing update scripts. Any help is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I found this page: http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...-5/hammerhead/
so i know im behind 1 update on my bootloader
is this a big deal? should I bother updating?
if i should update, is there any way to do so without going completely back to stock?
Last edited by crackmulah; 8th April 2014 at 06:29 AM.
8th April 2014, 06:51 AM   |  #2  
TheAtheistOtaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 298
 
1,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackmulah

I have an issue that prevents me from flashing new CM roms - when ever i try to flash one i get an error that includes:
assert failed: getprop ("ro bootloader") == "HHZ11k"
i have gotten around this by editing the updatescript of the rom .zip to match my bootloader version: HHZ11d

So...whats going on here? Why did my bootloader change, or did I miss an update somewhere along the way? I would like to fix this so I dont have to keep editing update scripts. Any help is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I found this page: http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...-5/hammerhead/
so i know im behind 1 update on my bootloader
is this a big deal? should I bother updating?
if i should update, is there any way to do so without going completely back to stock?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...od-m5-t2708788
The Following User Says Thank You to TheAtheistOtaku For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2014, 08:04 AM   |  #3  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,287
 
8,920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackmulah

I have an issue that prevents me from flashing new CM roms - when ever i try to flash one i get an error that includes:
assert failed: getprop ("ro bootloader") == "HHZ11k"
i have gotten around this by editing the updatescript of the rom .zip to match my bootloader version: HHZ11d

So...whats going on here? Why did my bootloader change, or did I miss an update somewhere along the way? I would like to fix this so I dont have to keep editing update scripts. Any help is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I found this page: http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...-5/hammerhead/
so i know im behind 1 update on my bootloader
is this a big deal? should I bother updating?
if i should update, is there any way to do so without going completely back to stock?

No idea why your new new bootloader cannot be installed mate, i`d reflash the complete stock rom from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...sybox-t2557523. Just flash in recovery and after reboot check if the new BL is installed and flash CM11
8th April 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
thanks guys

im not sure why i didnt think that a bootload can just be flashed as normal - doiiiii (its been about 4 months since ive flashed anything on my device though, in my defense, so im a bit rusty)

i also had an extremely difficult time trying to find the updated bootloader and ended up using the link from @TheAtheistOtaku even though it seemed kinda sketchy to me

id expect all phones, especially the N5 to have an XDA downloads section/page with explicity labeled updates for all aspects of the phone. i think ive seen similar xda pages for other phones...

anyways i seem to be good to go now! thanks again!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes