Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,531 Members 51,125 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bootloop - After Editing Settings.db - HELP!

Tip us?
 
ashens
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2012
Unhappy [Q] Bootloop - After Editing Settings.db - HELP!

Hey guys,

It seems I am in over my head here...

I was trying to get my Nexus 5 to tether and I followed directions to add a line my settings.db. After I restarted my phone, it's now stuck in a boot loop with the 4 colored circles.

After some googling, it seems that by editing settings.db on my PC and putting it back onto the phone, I might've messed the the permissions which is causing my phone to bootloop.

I've tried pulling the settings.db files using adb commands, but they don't seem to be working. It doesn't recognize my device during the bootloop. And "adb devices" doesn't show my phone in the cmd prompt, and any adb commands I try gets me a "device not found" error.

Fastboot mode still works though I think, because"fastboot devices" shows my phone in the cmd prompt.

Is there anyway I can save my phone without losing the data I have, which is mainly my pictures?

...I won't be able to sleep unless this gets fixed.

Many Thanks.
 
KJ
Old
#2  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3245
Posts: 7,859
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
You could fastboot the stock image.....but I think your pics would be gone.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

The Following User Says Thank You to KJ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GUGUITOMTG4
Old
#3  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 530
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: GuGuPlace
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashens View Post
Hey guys,

It seems I am in over my head here...

I was trying to get my Nexus 5 to tether and I followed directions to add a line my settings.db. After I restarted my phone, it's now stuck in a boot loop with the 4 colored circles.

After some googling, it seems that by editing settings.db on my PC and putting it back onto the phone, I might've messed the the permissions which is causing my phone to bootloop.

I've tried pulling the settings.db files using adb commands, but they don't seem to be working. It doesn't recognize my device during the bootloop. And "adb devices" doesn't show my phone in the cmd prompt, and any adb commands I try gets me a "device not found" error.

Fastboot mode still works though I think, because"fastboot devices" shows my phone in the cmd prompt.

Is there anyway I can save my phone without losing the data I have, which is mainly my pictures?

...I won't be able to sleep unless this gets fixed.

Many Thanks.
Hi, adb won't work if the system is not loaded, It can work on custom recovery though.
Your options are many. Flash custom recovery like TWRP, fix permissions from recovery. Or on recovery, try to pull the file via adb and push the original one.
If problem persists, will have to backup data, wipe system, cache and flash new Rom
After that, if want to go back to stock http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2513701
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -{()}- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
The Following User Says Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10737
Posts: 21,892
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Just adb from custom recovery
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=47623410

Do NOT fix permissions from TWRP. I wish they'd remove this option so people stop thinking its useful.

Or restore the nandroid backup you took before modifying your rom

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ashens
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
Just adb from custom recovery
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=47623410

Do NOT fix permissions from TWRP. I wish they'd remove this option so people stop thinking its useful.

Or restore the nandroid backup you took before modifying your rom

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Fixing permissions actually did fix the problem for me.

Um, any reason why I shouldn't have done it?
 
GUGUITOMTG4
Old
#6  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 530
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: GuGuPlace
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashens View Post
Fixing permissions actually did fix the problem for me.

Um, any reason why I shouldn't have done it?
It was more useful on old Gingerbread Roms which randomly forced-closed system apps but on newer and more stable android versions, that was rendered obsolete. I suggested using this because It has worked for me when editing files from PC. Also you phone was not working already, what else would go wrong by trying it. Also you wanted to keep data, so, simple steps first. Glad you fixed it.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -{()}- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
 
rootSU
Old
#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10737
Posts: 21,892
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashens View Post
Fixing permissions actually did fix the problem for me.

Um, any reason why I shouldn't have done it?
Yep. "Fix permissions" as an option in recovery goes around applying permissions to everything. But seriously, how does it "know" what permission everything your specific config requires is? Well it can't. It can only "best guess" from a list of "expected" permissions.

Applying permissions itself is not a problem if you know what it should be but the blanket shotgun approach is very dangerous. It often causes more problems than it fixes.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes