Post Reply
Arrow

[Q] how 2 turn on usb debugging without OS

2nd April 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Im very new to this all and have broken my phone... I know this is a simple fix but i cant find it in the forums... I was rooting my nexus 5 and the process was interrupted... Ive been trying to fix but i cant enable usb debugging to use tool kits. I am now stuck at a pac rom screen that is loading
2nd April 2014, 02:33 PM   |  #2  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,181
 
3,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

First of all DON'T use toolkits to root your device... Do it manually. It's just a few basic commands + you will get a basic knowledge about adb/fastboot.

Now, since you're stuck on PAC ROM bootanimation (are you sure?) , I'm assuming that you've already flashed a custom recovery...
Head over to the custom recovery, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache,dalvic cache and then flash the Pac rom zip file and then the gapps.zip and finally reboot.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,678
 
22,635 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Usb debugging only works in android so if you can't boot into android the setting is useless

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
2nd April 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #4  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 1,754
 
3,045 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daNewNoobi

Im very new to this all and have broken my phone... I know this is a simple fix but i cant find it in the forums... I was rooting my nexus 5 and the process was interrupted... Ive been trying to fix but i cant enable usb debugging to use tool kits. I am now stuck at a pac rom screen that is loading

Boot into bootloader and flash whatever properly. Don't use toolkits.
2nd April 2014, 08:37 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromium

. You DO NOT need usb debugging enabled for adb to work while in a custom recovery. Adb works by default in a custom recovery.
.

I think I believe Chromium on this - 3,915 posts and 4440 thanks
2nd April 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,678
 
22,635 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterk-1

I think I believe Chromium on this - 3,915 posts and 4440 thanks

He is correct, regardless of thanks or posts. As I've already said, its an android setting

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank