FORUMS

T-Mobile Galaxy S6 Battery Woes

I’ve been using a T-Mobile Galaxy S6 since the device launched with T-mobile’s … more

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

[Q] Bootloop for unknown reason after install CM11 M3 :/

18 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
By YB EDISON, Junior Member on 15th February 2014, 10:46 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi, I'm using Google Nexus 5 from LG Electronics.
Model number in box says it's LG-D821.

Anyway, I'm having trouble with installing CyanogenMod11 on my Nexus 5.
It's not the fist time I installing after-market firmwares in Android device.
I unlocked bootloader via fastboot, installed latest ClockWorkMod non-touch recovery.
Then I installed CyanogenMod11 with ADB sideload, wiped out my data(a factory reset) just for sure.
Also, Installed Google Apps from goo.im/gapps.

I thought it was done, so I rebooted my phone. But it bootloops for 10 minutes.
Checked MD5...nothing is wrong. Downloaded the latest CM11 nightly...bootloop!

What should I do?
 
 
15th February 2014, 10:49 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
I think the order is:
- factory reset
- flash cm
- flash gapps
- reboot

just make sure you have everything backed up (especially EFS backup off the phone - read about it). you could then go back to stock (by flashing factory image), do a full stock boot, copy the CM nighly zip, go back to boot loader flash the recovery of your choice, and follow the cm flashing guide from the internal memory.
15th February 2014, 10:51 AM |#3  
rahil3108's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 204
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YB EDISON

Hi,
Then I installed CyanogenMod11 with ADB sideload, wiped out my data(a factory reset) just for sure.
Also, Installed Google Apps from goo.

Try to install with zip "choose zip from sd card" it may be solved....and again wipe data-cache-dalvic-cache

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to rahil3108 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2014, 11:06 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
OK, I'll try that
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahil3108

Try to install with zip "choose zip from sd card" it may be solved....and again wipe data-cache-dalvic-cache

Sent from my Nexus 5

I tried wiping data, cache.
Dalvik-cache is included in data, (/data/dalivk-cache).
You don't have to wipe it manually if you wiped data partition.

I'll try installing CM11 using choose zip from sd card.
Thanks!
15th February 2014, 11:15 AM |#5  
rahil3108's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 204
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YB EDISON

I tried wiping data, cache.
Dalvik-cache is included in data, (/data/dalivk-cache).
You don't have to wipe it manually if you wiped data partition.

I'll try installing CM11 using choose zip from sd card.
Thanks!

I know that when u wipe data/factory reset automatically cache and dalvic cache got wiped but most of devs suggest to wipe them manually cause u dont know whether recovery is stable or not ...so i wipe my data-cache-dalvic cache manually and it works with me every time

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to rahil3108 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2014, 07:21 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
If your using a custom kernel make sure its caf I had the same issue didn't know

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
16th February 2014, 11:07 AM |#7  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,663
 
More
Also ensure you're flashing the correct version of gapps

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes