Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Bootloop for unknown reason after install CM11 M3 :/

15th February 2014, 10:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Hi, I'm using Google Nexus 5 from LG Electronics.
Model number in box says it's LG-D821.

Anyway, I'm having trouble with installing CyanogenMod11 on my Nexus 5.
It's not the fist time I installing after-market firmwares in Android device.
I unlocked bootloader via fastboot, installed latest ClockWorkMod non-touch recovery.
Then I installed CyanogenMod11 with ADB sideload, wiped out my data(a factory reset) just for sure.
Also, Installed Google Apps from goo.im/gapps.

I thought it was done, so I rebooted my phone. But it bootloops for 10 minutes.
Checked MD5...nothing is wrong. Downloaded the latest CM11 nightly...bootloop!

What should I do?
15th February 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Craiova
Thanks Meter: 126
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I think the order is:
- factory reset
- flash cm
- flash gapps
- reboot

just make sure you have everything backed up (especially EFS backup off the phone - read about it). you could then go back to stock (by flashing factory image), do a full stock boot, copy the CM nighly zip, go back to boot loader flash the recovery of your choice, and follow the cm flashing guide from the internal memory.
15th February 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #3  
rahil3108's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YB EDISON

Hi,
Then I installed CyanogenMod11 with ADB sideload, wiped out my data(a factory reset) just for sure.
Also, Installed Google Apps from goo.

Try to install with zip "choose zip from sd card" it may be solved....and again wipe data-cache-dalvic-cache

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to rahil3108 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
OK, I'll try that
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahil3108

Try to install with zip "choose zip from sd card" it may be solved....and again wipe data-cache-dalvic-cache

Sent from my Nexus 5

I tried wiping data, cache.
Dalvik-cache is included in data, (/data/dalivk-cache).
You don't have to wipe it manually if you wiped data partition.

I'll try installing CM11 using choose zip from sd card.
Thanks!
15th February 2014, 11:15 AM   |  #5  
rahil3108's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YB EDISON

I tried wiping data, cache.
Dalvik-cache is included in data, (/data/dalivk-cache).
You don't have to wipe it manually if you wiped data partition.

I'll try installing CM11 using choose zip from sd card.
Thanks!

I know that when u wipe data/factory reset automatically cache and dalvic cache got wiped but most of devs suggest to wipe them manually cause u dont know whether recovery is stable or not ...so i wipe my data-cache-dalvic cache manually and it works with me every time

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to rahil3108 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2014, 07:21 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 10
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
If your using a custom kernel make sure its caf I had the same issue didn't know

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
16th February 2014, 11:07 AM   |  #7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 11,681
 
22,643 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Also ensure you're flashing the correct version of gapps

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank