Use JSON to Dynamically Load Layouts with json2view

You normally use XML layouts for your applications, but what if you need a simpler way to … more

HTC One M8 Lollipop Rolls Out in Canada

HTC promised to deliver the Lollipop update within 90 days after the official release. Aroll outof … more

OnePlus Teases Their New ROM, OxygenOS

OnePlus went back to the drawing board tocreate a ROM that they promisewill be open,customizable, and … more

S-View Clocks for Note 4

Do you want a classy clock for your classy S-View cover? XDA Recognized Themersibinnhas provided us very … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Bricked device?

OP Potetsjokolade

11th February 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Hello, I think I've bricked my device...

I had Google Play issues, error 403, 920, 923, so I tried a fullwipe which I had used without any problems on my Desire HD. But I've encountered big issues on my Nexus 5...

It's stuck in bootloop, but I can get it to fastboot and recovery. I can't get it to mount USB-OTG (think that's wiped)

It won't show up in ADB (I am in fastboot), worked BEOFORE I flashed Custom Recovery (it broke after I installed), and did not work before I got all the errors. I can sideload CM11, but flashing wont help.

Any thoughts?

I'll try to get adb to work in fastboot, reinstalling drivers etc....

Thanks!

EDIT: Here is the zip i flashed do a full wipe. So you scriptheads know what messed things up
Last edited by Potetsjokolade; 11th February 2014 at 07:52 PM.
11th February 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,296
 
3,223 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potetsjokolade

Hello, I think I've bricked my device...

I had Google Play issues, error 403, 920, 923, so I tried a fullwipe which I had used without any problems on my Desire HD. But I've encountered big issues on my Nexus 5...

It's stuck in bootloop, but I can get it to fastboot and recovery. I can't get it to mount USB-OTG (think that's wiped)

It won't show up in ADB (I am in fastboot), worked BEOFORE I flashed Custom Recovery (it broke after I installed), and did not work before I got all the errors. I can sideload CM11, but flashing wont help.

Any thoughts?

I'll try to get adb to work in fastboot, reinstalling drivers etc....

Thanks!

Make sure you are using a recovery designed for the Nexus 5, and not the one you used on your old phone. Link is in my signature.

Flash factory images (return to stock). Link in signature.
11th February 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,141
 
11,736 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potetsjokolade

Hello, I think I've bricked my device...

I had Google Play issues, error 403, 920, 923, so I tried a fullwipe which I had used without any problems on my Desire HD. But I've encountered big issues on my Nexus 5...

It's stuck in bootloop, but I can get it to fastboot and recovery. I can't get it to mount USB-OTG (think that's wiped)

It won't show up in ADB (I am in fastboot), worked BEOFORE I flashed Custom Recovery (it broke after I installed), and did not work before I got all the errors. I can sideload CM11, but flashing wont help.

Any thoughts?

I'll try to get adb to work in fastboot, reinstalling drivers etc....

Thanks!

EDIT: Here is the zip i flashed do a full wipe. So you scriptheads know what messed things up

You wiped your os. You either need to side load a zip with adb. Or return to stock with the factory image

Edit, what did you use a script to wipe your device for? That's crazy, especially since it's not for the n5. You may be hosed because that script messes with a whole bunch of partitions which I'm sure don't align with the n5
Last edited by jd1639; 11th February 2014 at 08:14 PM.
11th February 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You wiped your os. You either need to side load a zip with adb. Or return to stock with the factory image

Edit, what did you use a script to wipe your device for? That's crazy, especially since it's not for the n5. You may be hosed because that script messes with a whole bunch of partitions which I'm sure don't align with the n5

haha, I know, I wanted to wipe the device (get it?). I was affraid I had wiped the adb drivers on my n5 (lol), I got adb in fastboot to work, and I flashed stock image. Everything works now.
11th February 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,141
 
11,736 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potetsjokolade

haha, I know, I wanted to wipe the device (get it?). I was affraid I had wiped the adb drivers on my n5 (lol), I got adb in fastboot to work, and I flashed stock image. Everything works now.

Glad it's working. You dodged a bullet. I'm sure you won't do that again.
11th February 2014, 09:29 PM   |  #6  
P.Mobile's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag RhOdE IsLAnD... 401
Thanks Meter: 936
 
4,341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
that zip is not made for the N5... u cant flash wipe zips made for other phones
The Following User Says Thank You to P.Mobile For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #7  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,894
 
4,101 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potetsjokolade

(snip) I got adb in fastboot to work, and I flashed stock image. Everything works now.

You mean you got FASTBOOT to work in the BOOTLOADER.

Sent from my Nexus 5
12th February 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #8  
ldubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 47
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
BTW these Google play issues were happening all day today. It wasn't your device.

sent from my hammerhead

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes