Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Think I Bricked My Phone

OP bullsrfive

14th March 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #11  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,280
 
8,897 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Okay I'll do that. I have a question about downloading paranoid rom. If I flash that then flash franco, am I just adding franco to paranoid or am i going back to just franco?

First flash PA and straight after that Franco.
14th March 2014, 09:07 PM   |  #12  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,915
 
11,215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Okay I'll do that. I have a question about downloading paranoid rom. If I flash that then flash franco, am I just adding franco to paranoid or am i going back to just franco?

You're mixing up roms and kernels. There not the same thing

Sent from my Nexus 5
14th March 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #13  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I think that you urgently need to read here http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki...=ROM-VS-Kernel

Or will brick your phone as soon as today.
Last edited by GUGUITOMTG4; 14th March 2014 at 09:14 PM.
14th March 2014, 09:19 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I am a dummy. Basically what I was running before was stock rom with franco kernel. I loved it! Looks like I'll hav to flash back to stock and load up franco. I guess I'll need my USB cable for that.

I'm having major problems with the PA rom though. It keeps saying the process com.android.phone has stopped and I can't really do anything. A lot worse than when I was on CM. Ughh ....
Last edited by bullsrfive; 14th March 2014 at 09:25 PM.
14th March 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Never mind it works now after I wiped the data from recovery mode. Man once I get it back to what it was before I'm never downloading another rom again lol. Thanks for all your help guys
Last edited by bullsrfive; 14th March 2014 at 09:55 PM.
15th March 2014, 12:24 AM   |  #16  
xdrc45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Great White , Michigan
Thanks Meter: 304
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Never mind it works now after I wiped the data from recovery mode. Man once I get it back to what it was before I'm never downloading another rom again lol. Thanks for all your help guys

The best thing to do in these situations is to stay calm. When your about to flash something to your device, Always read the OP and then read it again, just to make sure you didn't miss anything or misunderstand something. Your not a dummy and It's not that there's a problem with the ROM's or the kernel's... its the lack of compatibility of the kernel with ROM. Which as you found out will get you stuck on the splash screen or in a bootloop, but its an easy fix.
Also when ever your flashing a completely new ROM, (like going from CM to PA) do a clean install, generally by just wiping the dalvik cache, the cache partition and performing a factory reset in recovery or what the ROMs OP suggests. This will make sure that there's nothing left over from the previous ROM and won't cause weird issues like the com.android.phone has stopped problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to xdrc45 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #17  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Never mind it works now after I wiped the data from recovery mode. Man once I get it back to what it was before I'm never downloading another rom again lol. Thanks for all your help guys

You don't have to feel discouraged about flashing Roms. All of us were on trouble at lest 3 times during android experience. Now you know what to do if run into the same problem. This is about informing before doing things we are not used too. If you like a new Rom, don't flash it without understanding its features and kernel compatibility. Read threads, they are huge but at least firs pages and last ones too. Ask questions, get answers and evaluate the challenge.
There is a lot of juicy info on the first 4 threads on the general section that will provide almost all you need to know to go safe.

The Following User Says Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes