An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge – XDA TV

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more
Post Reply

Think I Bricked My Phone

14th March 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #11  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Okay I'll do that. I have a question about downloading paranoid rom. If I flash that then flash franco, am I just adding franco to paranoid or am i going back to just franco?

First flash PA and straight after that Franco.
14th March 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #12  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,393
 
9,932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Okay I'll do that. I have a question about downloading paranoid rom. If I flash that then flash franco, am I just adding franco to paranoid or am i going back to just franco?

You're mixing up roms and kernels. There not the same thing

Sent from my Nexus 5
14th March 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #13  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I think that you urgently need to read here http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki...=ROM-VS-Kernel

Or will brick your phone as soon as today.
Last edited by GUGUITOMTG4; 14th March 2014 at 08:14 PM.
14th March 2014, 08:19 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I am a dummy. Basically what I was running before was stock rom with franco kernel. I loved it! Looks like I'll hav to flash back to stock and load up franco. I guess I'll need my USB cable for that.

I'm having major problems with the PA rom though. It keeps saying the process com.android.phone has stopped and I can't really do anything. A lot worse than when I was on CM. Ughh ....
Last edited by bullsrfive; 14th March 2014 at 08:25 PM.
14th March 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Never mind it works now after I wiped the data from recovery mode. Man once I get it back to what it was before I'm never downloading another rom again lol. Thanks for all your help guys
Last edited by bullsrfive; 14th March 2014 at 08:55 PM.
14th March 2014, 11:24 PM   |  #16  
xdrc45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Great White , Michigan
Thanks Meter: 293
 
723 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Never mind it works now after I wiped the data from recovery mode. Man once I get it back to what it was before I'm never downloading another rom again lol. Thanks for all your help guys

The best thing to do in these situations is to stay calm. When your about to flash something to your device, Always read the OP and then read it again, just to make sure you didn't miss anything or misunderstand something. Your not a dummy and It's not that there's a problem with the ROM's or the kernel's... its the lack of compatibility of the kernel with ROM. Which as you found out will get you stuck on the splash screen or in a bootloop, but its an easy fix.
Also when ever your flashing a completely new ROM, (like going from CM to PA) do a clean install, generally by just wiping the dalvik cache, the cache partition and performing a factory reset in recovery or what the ROMs OP suggests. This will make sure that there's nothing left over from the previous ROM and won't cause weird issues like the com.android.phone has stopped problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to xdrc45 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th March 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #17  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsrfive

Never mind it works now after I wiped the data from recovery mode. Man once I get it back to what it was before I'm never downloading another rom again lol. Thanks for all your help guys

You don't have to feel discouraged about flashing Roms. All of us were on trouble at lest 3 times during android experience. Now you know what to do if run into the same problem. This is about informing before doing things we are not used too. If you like a new Rom, don't flash it without understanding its features and kernel compatibility. Read threads, they are huge but at least firs pages and last ones too. Ask questions, get answers and evaluate the challenge.
There is a lot of juicy info on the first 4 threads on the general section that will provide almost all you need to know to go safe.

The Following User Says Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank