Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,213 Members 40,101 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] busted digitizer (i think)

Tip us?
 
dot2
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2012
Question [Q] busted digitizer (i think)

Hi,

About 3 weeks ago my nexus 5 got wet, I dried it quickly and it seems to be ok, except not touch.
The screen is ok Wi-Fi 3g all is working.

I could not find anywhere how to replace only the digitizer (adding the screen is quite expensive).

Anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks.
 
gee2012
Old
#2  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2805
Posts: 7,722
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by dot2 View Post
Hi,

About 3 weeks ago my nexus 5 got wet, I dried it quickly and it seems to be ok, except not touch.
The screen is ok Wi-Fi 3g all is working.

I could not find anywhere how to replace only the digitizer (adding the screen is quite expensive).

Anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks.
You can only replace the whole screen (digitizer included), not seperately. Look on YouTube for iFixit video`s for how to replace it if you want to do it yourself.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
 
dot2
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2012
Hi, Thanks for your answer.

That part i know, however it's quite expensive and i have a new device so i'm in no hurry.
Do you think that in the future there will be a seperate digitizer?
 
gee2012
Old
#4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2805
Posts: 7,722
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by dot2 View Post
Hi, Thanks for your answer.

That part i know, however it's quite expensive and i have a new device so i'm in no hurry.
Do you think that in the future there will be a seperate digitizer?
Don`t think so, it will stay a one part component.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
 
dot2
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2012
ok, thanks.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes