FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Buying Nexus 5 from T-Mobile, will it work on other networks?

133 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By paulruk, Senior Member on 16th May 2014, 12:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi All

I`m travelling to Miami next week from abroad for 5 days, and would like to buy a Nexus 5. Cheapest place in store seems to be T-Mobile no Credit check.
Just wondering if its just a standard Nexus 5 phone that I can take back home and use on a local network.

Any ideas??
THanks
 
 
16th May 2014, 01:20 PM |#2  
NaterTots's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CT
Thanks Meter: 650
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulruk

Hi All

I`m travelling to Miami next week from abroad for 5 days, and would like to buy a Nexus 5. Cheapest place in store seems to be T-Mobile no Credit check.
Just wondering if its just a standard Nexus 5 phone that I can take back home and use on a local network.

Any ideas??
THanks

You should be fine doing that.
They all should be the same except for storage size.

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th May 2014, 01:26 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NaterTots

You should be fine doing that.
They all should be the same except for storage size.

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

i know theres something about either buying it on tmobile or sprint and not working on the other. I forget which way it goes, but it has to do with one the ESN not being in the database of the other. I think it was if bought on tmobile the esn was not on sprints list.
16th May 2014, 02:56 PM |#4  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,820
 
More
Here is what I know:

There are 2 models only.

D820 (North America)
D821 (Everywhere else)

The D821 and D820 will work on any* network in the respective area. However a D820 in the "everywhere else" region will only work up to HSPA+ (No LTE). The same is true of the D821 in North America.


The D820 bought from T-mobile is exactly the same as the D820 bought on ebay,. or via AT&T or wherever. The Same as the Sprint one too. However, I believe the Sprint one does not work on T-mobile because it is not in their database. (or as someone else said it may be the other way around, cant get T-mobile on Sprint because it is not in their database)
16th May 2014, 03:01 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,093
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

The D820 bought from T-mobile is exactly the same as the D820 bought on ebay,. or via AT&T or wherever. The Same as the Sprint one too. However, I believe the Sprint one does not work on T-mobile because it is not in their database. (or as someone else said it may be the other way around, cant get T-mobile on Sprint because it is not in their database)

its the other way around. sprint does not have the tmobile one in their database, but you can get someone in their tier 2 tech support to add it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st May 2014, 12:13 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius

its the other way around. sprint does not have the tmobile one in their database, but you can get someone in their tier 2 tech support to add it.

Where you able to get someone to add it on your Sprint account?
21st May 2014, 12:15 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,093
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGABYTEPR

Where you able to get someone to add it on your Sprint account?

I'm on tmobile, but I have seen threads where it does take a bit to get some one to add it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
nexus 5, t-mobile
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes