Post Reply

Camera app says "Insert an SD card before using the camera"

18th February 2014, 05:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
So I just connected my phone to the computer, where I found an extra TitaniumBackup folder. The said folder was located in storage/emulated. Here, the "storage" folder itself was located in the Internal Storage, that shows up on the PC. (I hope I'm clear)

Since there was a more current TitaniumBackup folder already sitting in the root, I decided to delete the extra one inside the sdcard folder.

After deleting, I've lost everything I had on the device. I checked in a file explorer app, and all I had in the internal memory was the Android folder. Apps are working fine at the moment, but camera app asks me to insert an SD card. The amount of free space also suggests all data has been wiped.

What do I do rectify this? I'm guessing remounting in recovery should do it, but I'm not sure. A simple reboot could fix it too I guess, but I'm not sure again.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Last edited by jrjk; 18th February 2014 at 05:24 AM.
18th February 2014, 06:12 AM   |  #2  
farsight73's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 157
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
This is what you're talking about? check picture attached.

And which folder you actually deleted?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	183
Size:	177.1 KB
ID:	2585965  
18th February 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Oh yes, it's storage that I deleted, not sdcard

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th February 2014, 06:29 AM   |  #4  
farsight73's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 157
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
It's a mirror storage link that also the same as your main storage.

Deleting the storage meaning deleting your main storage too I would assumed.

Edit:
For the camera asking to insert new SDcard or something. You need to clear data in Settings - Apps for camera.
And the rest of your data in your storage is gone for good now.
Last edited by farsight73; 18th February 2014 at 06:32 AM.
18th February 2014, 06:35 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Cleared the camera app data, didn't help. You'd say a reboot should help?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th February 2014, 06:42 AM   |  #6  
Beauenheim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Meridian, Idaho
Thanks Meter: 86
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrjk

Cleared the camera app data, didn't help. You'd say a reboot should help?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

If clearing data and a reboot doesn't work it's factory reset time, at least that would be the easiest way.
18th February 2014, 12:26 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I guess I panicked more than I should have. Reboot fixed that, so I don't have to reset now

Thanks for chiming in guys

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank