Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Camera app says "Insert an SD card before using the camera"

OP jrjk

18th February 2014, 06:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
So I just connected my phone to the computer, where I found an extra TitaniumBackup folder. The said folder was located in storage/emulated. Here, the "storage" folder itself was located in the Internal Storage, that shows up on the PC. (I hope I'm clear)

Since there was a more current TitaniumBackup folder already sitting in the root, I decided to delete the extra one inside the sdcard folder.

After deleting, I've lost everything I had on the device. I checked in a file explorer app, and all I had in the internal memory was the Android folder. Apps are working fine at the moment, but camera app asks me to insert an SD card. The amount of free space also suggests all data has been wiped.

What do I do rectify this? I'm guessing remounting in recovery should do it, but I'm not sure. A simple reboot could fix it too I guess, but I'm not sure again.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Last edited by jrjk; 18th February 2014 at 06:24 AM.
18th February 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #2  
farsight73's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 157
 
967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
This is what you're talking about? check picture attached.

And which folder you actually deleted?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	496
Size:	177.1 KB
ID:	2585965  
18th February 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Oh yes, it's storage that I deleted, not sdcard

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th February 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #4  
farsight73's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 157
 
967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
It's a mirror storage link that also the same as your main storage.

Deleting the storage meaning deleting your main storage too I would assumed.

Edit:
For the camera asking to insert new SDcard or something. You need to clear data in Settings - Apps for camera.
And the rest of your data in your storage is gone for good now.
Last edited by farsight73; 18th February 2014 at 07:32 AM.
18th February 2014, 07:35 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Cleared the camera app data, didn't help. You'd say a reboot should help?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th February 2014, 07:42 AM   |  #6  
Beauenheim's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Meridian, Idaho
Thanks Meter: 89
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrjk

Cleared the camera app data, didn't help. You'd say a reboot should help?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

If clearing data and a reboot doesn't work it's factory reset time, at least that would be the easiest way.
18th February 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I guess I panicked more than I should have. Reboot fixed that, so I don't have to reset now

Thanks for chiming in guys

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes