Get S6 Edge’s Notifications with Edge Color Notification

The post Get S6 Edge’s Notifications with Edge Color Notification … more

Intel at MWC 2015: New Chip Branding and Details

more

Microsoft Unveils the Lumia 640 and Lumia 640 XL

more

New Cyanogen Inc. Brand Identity, Qualcomm Partnership

The post New Cyanogen Inc. Brand Identity, Qualcomm Partnership appeared first on … more
Post Reply

Camera freezes?

OP Anderson2

25th May 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Am I the only one with stock 4.4.2 whose camera freezes?

I've been battling the problem that if I use the camera on the Nexus 5 it will sometimes freeze the phone. It may happen after a variable amount of pictures are taken. Suddenly the phone freezes and only a reboot will get it back to normal. I've asked in this forum without success and then found this

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5...n-android?rq=1

Any solutions anyone?
25th May 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #2  
Bruce Lee's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 377
 
2,120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Am I the only one with stock 4.4.2 whose camera freezes?

I've been battling the problem that if I use the camera on the Nexus 5 it will sometimes freeze the phone. It may happen after a variable amount of pictures are taken. Suddenly the phone freezes and only a reboot will get it back to normal. I've asked in this forum without success and then found this

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5...n-android?rq=1

Any solutions anyone?

What's your phone setup? Are you rooted with a custom ROM?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th May 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Rooted, stock 4.4.2 ROM.
Nova prime launcher.
No syncing on anything.
Use xprivacy, AFWall+, gravitybox. (but all 3 disabled with no improvement).
Camera is essentially unusable because of need to reboot every few pictures. Screenshots in my other thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146
Last edited by Anderson2; 25th May 2014 at 10:46 PM.
25th May 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,465
 
28,406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Rooted, stock 4.4.2 ROM.
Nova prime launcher.
No syncing on anything.
Use xprivacy, AFWall+, gravitybox. (but all 3 disabled with no improvement).
Camera is essentially unusable because of need to reboot every few pictures. Screenshots in my other thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146

dont disable the exposed, delete it(remove everything xposed completely), reboot, then try your camera
25th May 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I would hate to do that because I really like xposed. But I'll make a nandroid backup, and then do as you say. If it's no better, I could always restore the nandroid. But nobody else has noticed any connection between xposed and Google camera. I "believe" the problems started when I updated to the latest camera update. Wish I could find the pre update camera app.
25th May 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,465
 
28,406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

I would hate to do that because I really like xposed. But I'll make a nandroid backup, and then do as you say. If it's no better, I could always restore the nandroid. But nobody else has noticed any connection between xposed and Google camera. I "believe" the problems started when I updated to the latest camera update. Wish I could find the pre update camera app.

xposed causes many many random issues that are undocumented. for many not a single issue, for others its like a phone full of gremlins.
26th May 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Well, tis done. I'll see if the camera behaves. It takes time for it to act up....

Fwiw, I've used xposed for quite a while and the camera freezing only started about 4-6 weeks ago. Maybe it was a recent update.

I uninstalled xposed. Where should I look for files to delete to ensure a good test?
26th May 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,465
 
28,406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Well, tis done. I'll see if the camera behaves. It takes time for it to act up....

Fwiw, I've used xposed for quite a while and the camera freezing only started about 4-6 weeks ago. Maybe it was a recent update.

I uninstalled xposed. Where should I look for files to delete to ensure a good test?

honestly, i dont know. i have never needed or been willing to use xposed. an uninstall and a reboot should be fine(dirty flashing your rom again would be best, but i think it will be fine without). just give it some time to test. if its not xposed, restore your backup and we will look further.
26th May 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I'm afraid to say anything, but I think uninstalling Xposed did it. Will wait longer before breathing a sigh.....

Thank you.

The Following User Says Thank You to Anderson2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes