Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Camera freezes?

OP Anderson2

25th May 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Am I the only one with stock 4.4.2 whose camera freezes?

I've been battling the problem that if I use the camera on the Nexus 5 it will sometimes freeze the phone. It may happen after a variable amount of pictures are taken. Suddenly the phone freezes and only a reboot will get it back to normal. I've asked in this forum without success and then found this

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5...n-android?rq=1

Any solutions anyone?
25th May 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #2  
Bruce Lee's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 372
 
2,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Am I the only one with stock 4.4.2 whose camera freezes?

I've been battling the problem that if I use the camera on the Nexus 5 it will sometimes freeze the phone. It may happen after a variable amount of pictures are taken. Suddenly the phone freezes and only a reboot will get it back to normal. I've asked in this forum without success and then found this

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5...n-android?rq=1

Any solutions anyone?

What's your phone setup? Are you rooted with a custom ROM?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th May 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Rooted, stock 4.4.2 ROM.
Nova prime launcher.
No syncing on anything.
Use xprivacy, AFWall+, gravitybox. (but all 3 disabled with no improvement).
Camera is essentially unusable because of need to reboot every few pictures. Screenshots in my other thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146
Last edited by Anderson2; 25th May 2014 at 10:46 PM.
25th May 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,787
 
27,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Rooted, stock 4.4.2 ROM.
Nova prime launcher.
No syncing on anything.
Use xprivacy, AFWall+, gravitybox. (but all 3 disabled with no improvement).
Camera is essentially unusable because of need to reboot every few pictures. Screenshots in my other thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761146

dont disable the exposed, delete it(remove everything xposed completely), reboot, then try your camera
25th May 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I would hate to do that because I really like xposed. But I'll make a nandroid backup, and then do as you say. If it's no better, I could always restore the nandroid. But nobody else has noticed any connection between xposed and Google camera. I "believe" the problems started when I updated to the latest camera update. Wish I could find the pre update camera app.
25th May 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,787
 
27,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

I would hate to do that because I really like xposed. But I'll make a nandroid backup, and then do as you say. If it's no better, I could always restore the nandroid. But nobody else has noticed any connection between xposed and Google camera. I "believe" the problems started when I updated to the latest camera update. Wish I could find the pre update camera app.

xposed causes many many random issues that are undocumented. for many not a single issue, for others its like a phone full of gremlins.
26th May 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Well, tis done. I'll see if the camera behaves. It takes time for it to act up....

Fwiw, I've used xposed for quite a while and the camera freezing only started about 4-6 weeks ago. Maybe it was a recent update.

I uninstalled xposed. Where should I look for files to delete to ensure a good test?
26th May 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,787
 
27,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Well, tis done. I'll see if the camera behaves. It takes time for it to act up....

Fwiw, I've used xposed for quite a while and the camera freezing only started about 4-6 weeks ago. Maybe it was a recent update.

I uninstalled xposed. Where should I look for files to delete to ensure a good test?

honestly, i dont know. i have never needed or been willing to use xposed. an uninstall and a reboot should be fine(dirty flashing your rom again would be best, but i think it will be fine without). just give it some time to test. if its not xposed, restore your backup and we will look further.
26th May 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I'm afraid to say anything, but I think uninstalling Xposed did it. Will wait longer before breathing a sigh.....

Thank you.

The Following User Says Thank You to Anderson2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes