Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Carbon Fibers?

OP tysonwald

17th June 2014, 03:40 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
I installed carbon rom and loved the carbon fibers settings, but the rom kept crashing and i had to go back to pa android. i also love pa android but want more tun-ability. Is there an apk or way to install carbon fibers in pa android or something similar?

thank you!
17th June 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #2  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
The carbon rom kept crashing because you didn't wipe everything prior to it's installation. Did you wipe data, clear dalvic, format system and then flash the carbon rom and gapps??
17th June 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

The carbon rom kept crashing because you didn't wipe everything prior to it's installation. Did you wipe data, clear dalvic, format system and then flash the carbon rom and gapps??

I wiped everything. This isnt my first rodeo flashing roms. i have carbon on my nexus 7 with no issues. on my nexus 5 the keyboard keeps crashing.
17th June 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #4  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tysonwald

I wiped everything. This isnt my first rodeo flashing roms. i have carbon on my nexus 7 with no issues. on my nexus 5 the keyboard keeps crashing.

Since you said the rom kept crashing, I thought you referred to the Android system fcs. Changing the keyboard might have solved it...

About the carbon settings apk... If the carbon settings in integrated to rom, then it won't work on any other roms even if you manage to find its apk and install it.
17th June 2014, 10:28 AM   |  #5  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 2,580
 
4,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tysonwald

I installed carbon rom and loved the carbon fibers settings, but the rom kept crashing and i had to go back to pa android. i also love pa android but want more tun-ability. Is there an apk or way to install carbon fibers in pa android or something similar?

thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

Since you said the rom kept crashing, I thought you referred to the Android system fcs. Changing the keyboard might have solved it...

About the carbon settings apk... If the carbon settings in integrated to rom, then it won't work on any other roms even if you manage to find its apk and install it.

It's integrated within Settings.apk and in the framework itself. "Carbon Fibers" is just the menu in which you toggle/customize your options. Each ROM has it's own "customizations".

Carbon is mostly "stable"; nightly builds but most are daily-driver capable. You probably forgot to wipe or something. I have never experienced instability with the official ROM, only some in my own personal build when experimenting with things.
17th June 2014, 07:27 PM   |  #6  
Dawnut's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Burgas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Just revert back to Carbon, and if your keyboard keeps crashing again, just download Google Keyboard from the play store.Simple as that. I had this issue myself, but upgrading to the next nightly fixed it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes