Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I need a better clipboard functionality

OP mike-o2

21st February 2014, 07:21 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
One of the things that I loved about my ASUS Padfone 2 was the near stock UI.
The things that got changed by ASUS were mostly very useful, like the clipboard.

If I long pressed a textbox on my Padfone 2, the usual "paste" icon showed up accompanied by a second icon "clipboard".
When I clicked that icon, a panel slid up from where the keyboard normally is, which had the last copied elements as a small preview, with an additional button to edit the contents. In edit mode, I could delete elements or mark them as permanent (I guess the system would overwrite them when the cashe would be full at some point otherwise).

I miss that useful function on my Nexus 5.

Does anyone know a mod or custom ROM that does that?
I have looked into this on the play store, but the apps there require to run in the background or to switch to a third app to access the copied content.
21st February 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #2  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 199
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
You will have to look at the ROM feature list, but this is the first time that I have heard of this feature. If my memory is correct there aren't any ROMs with the feature but don't quote me. Third party app is your best alternative. This phone has 2GB of RAM it'll be ok in the background.

edit: You could also check xposed or make a request in the xposed thread.
21st February 2014, 08:28 PM   |  #3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,842
 
25,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I use clipper which is still a 3rd app but it works well for me. I use switchr to swipe in from the screen edge to access it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
24th February 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Thanks for the replies.

I am not worried about the RAM running full, but I don't like to have any more notification icons than necessary.
Looks like I'll have to compromise clean look for functionality.

I wish google implemented the way ASUS did it into AOSP. It was really perfect.
Maybe Cyanogenmod will do this.

Thanks again for your comments.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes