Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

CNET app uses 15% of my battery ?

OP Lucky_Slevin

23rd January 2014, 01:06 PM   |  #1  
Lucky_Slevin's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
It says CPU total 1min 50 seconds but why is it saying the GPS is on for it for over 3 hours ? I force close it and it still says its eating up my battery. Android OS and everything else minus screen is below CNET in percentage. Other than turn GPS off what can I do ? I need GPS on for other apps

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
23rd January 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,791
 
10,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Don't use cnet. Some apps are poorly written and there isn't a think you can do. Sounds like this is one. Read the cnet reviews, you're not the only one with this problem.
23rd January 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #3  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,279
 
3,178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Don't use cnet. Some apps are poorly written and there isn't a think you can do. Sounds like this is one. Read the cnet reviews, you're not the only one with this problem.

Knowing CNET, it's not bad coding, it's intentional.
23rd January 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky_Slevin

It says CPU total 1min 50 seconds but why is it saying the GPS is on for it for over 3 hours ? I force close it and it still says its eating up my battery. Android OS and everything else minus screen is below CNET in percentage. Other than turn GPS off what can I do ? I need GPS on for other apps

Can you switch to 'battery saving' location mapping? Most apps (besides navigation) don't really require GPS level accuracy.

(If you are rooted, you can always just prevent the cnet app from using GPS - AppOps or Xprivacy)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes