Post Reply

[Q] Can't connect to 4G after 4.4.4 update

OP kalssuma

17th June 2014, 03:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Hey, writing this from New Zealand on D821 Nexus 5 unlocked.

I have recently updated my Nexus 5 to 4.4.3 and it seems great with improved battery life and all.

However it is really buggering me off that I can't connect to 4G anymore. All I am getting is H+.

My phone setting is on 4G (recommended) for data and I have rebooted the device a few times just in case.

If you know any way I could try and resolve this problem, please help me out.

Cheers
17th June 2014, 03:10 AM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,287
 
12,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Is your bootloader unlocked? I'd flash the 4.4.2 radio. Sounds like that worked better for you. If you have a custom recovery there are some zip files too you could flash

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
17th June 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Is your bootloader unlocked? I'd flash the 4.4.2 radio. Sounds like that worked better for you. If you have a custom recovery there are some zip files too you could flash

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Yea, my N5 is not rooted. It is just the 4G connection issue. I am very happy with every other aspect of the update though.
17th June 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #4  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,458
 
4,238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalssuma

Yea, my N5 is not rooted. It is just the 4G connection issue. I am very happy with every other aspect of the update though.

You don't need to be rooted. Flashing a radio from fastboot just needs an unlocked bootloader

I've seen many complaints regarding this new radio. It's great that we have a nexus and can roll back to anything we want to
17th June 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

You don't need to be rooted. Flashing a radio from fastboot just needs an unlocked bootloader

I've seen many complaints regarding this new radio. It's great that we have a nexus and can roll back to anything we want to

Hey, thanks for your reply. So, do you mean that I can use the previous 4.4.2 radio setting with all the other 4.4.3 features remaining the same?

Could you be able to provide me with a link to 4.4.2 radio bootloader please?

Cheers
17th June 2014, 03:40 AM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,287
 
12,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalssuma

Hey, thanks for your reply. So, do you mean that I can use the previous 4.4.2 radio setting with all the other 4.4.3 features remaining the same?

Could you be able to provide me with a link to 4.4.2 radio bootloader please?

Cheers

Yes. If your boot loader is unlocked just fastboot flash the radio

fastboot flash radio radio.img

Get radio.img out of the factory image. Google nexus 5 factory image. Download it and extract it. In there is another zip file, extract that too. There you find the radio.img

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
17th June 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Yes. If your boot loader is unlocked just fastboot flash the radio

fastboot flash radio radio.img

Get radio.img out of the factory image. Google nexus 5 factory image. Download it and extract it. In there is another zip file, extract that too. There you find the radio.img

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Hey, thanks for your reply.

Will this factory reset my phone?

Cheers
17th June 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,287
 
12,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalssuma

Hey, thanks for your reply.

Will this factory reset my phone?

Cheers

No, it will not. You won't lose anything on your phone

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes