Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,276 Members 38,542 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Converting US version to Rest of world

Tip us?
 
tomashlavacek
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Question [Q] Converting US version to Rest of world

Hello,
I want to ask a question. If I buy Nexus 5 in U.S I will get special version for US...

I want to use it in Europe, I know that will by working without LTE.

My question is.. Is it posible to convert US version to version for Europe? I think that diference is only in software....

Sorry for my english

Thank you for ansver
 
EddyOS
Old
#2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,020
Posts: 13,269
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
There's nothing to change, you just won't get LTE/4G. Just put your SIM in the phone and away you go!
Google Nexus 5 D821 (Black) 32GB
ROM: Android 4.4.4 (KTU84P) | Bootloader: HHZ11K | Recovery: Stock | Radio: 2.0.50.1.16 | Kernel: Stock

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required) | [GUIDE] Return your OPO to 100% Stock
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10,854
Posts: 22,014
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Radio can only handle 7 lte bands. Us version already uses all 7 bands. There's no method available to change the bands the radio has been released from the factory with.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
Vanhoud
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 734
Join Date: Dec 2010
Solution :don't buy the US version

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
tomashlavacek
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
A want LTE so i will buy EU version...

I was asking beacause US version is cheaper... And I am now in US
 
bushako
Old
#6  
bushako's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 277
Posts: 1,072
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dubai
No there's no way to make it work. Its down to hardware level and it would cost you just as much as getting the D821 by trying to modify anything in your phone's hardware.
Nexus 5 - 32GB - D820 - latest 4.4.4 Mahdi ROM with Franco's Kernel
 
tomashlavacek
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
OK OK... I dont know its a hardware issue... I was thinking that is about software...

I will look for EU version...
 
howard bamber
Old
#8  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 1,269
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southport
Don't buy the USA one. The lte bands differ as does one of the gsm for the UK and other countries in Europe

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
howard bamber
Old
#9  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 1,269
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southport
It will work BTW you will just lack 2 lte and 1gsm band

Sent by mobile telephone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more