Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,091 Members 52,954 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CPU undervolt without root, franco kernel

Tip us?
 
--__--
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 107
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] CPU undervolt without root, franco kernel

Hi

Does anyone know if it is possible to set undervolt (and max frequency) with franco kernel and stock rom, without root?

By using init.d or something?

If possible could someone point me in the right direction?

I'm asking because i need to use some apps, that require that the phone is not rooted, and the only thing i use root for is setting CPU undervolt.

Thanks
 
Ben36
Old
#2  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,631
Posts: 5,875
Join Date: Jun 2012
Eh? You mean you've unrooted your phone since flashing?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Dakura
Old
#3  
Dakura's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 239
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Samsun
Nope, you can't mess with cpu voltage without root, that's absolutely not possible, if it was, it would be catasthrophic for service centers
Phone: Nexus 5 16GB
Tablet: Nexus 7 32GB
Old Android Phones: Samsung Galaxy Mini, Samsung S2 I9100G
 
simms22
Old
#4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,416
Posts: 25,781
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
no, you need root to use the apps to set voltages, you can not change those files without root access.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
--__--
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 107
Join Date: Aug 2010
What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?
 
simms22
Old
#6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,416
Posts: 25,781
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__-- View Post
What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?
still wont work
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
rootSU
Old
#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,306
Posts: 22,365
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__-- View Post
What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?
The voltages settings revert to stock on reboot and need to be re-applied at each boot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KJ
Old
#8  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,515
Posts: 8,451
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Delete the apps that require being unrooted ....whatever they may be.

Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, G Tab 3 or S2.....
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life? Any device welcome, even tho its an N5 thread. Please specify if on a device other than N5. Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
OuncE718
Old
#9  
OuncE718's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 310
Posts: 2,014
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DC by way of BK
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__-- View Post
Hi

Does anyone know if it is possible to set undervolt (and max frequency) with franco kernel and stock rom, without root?

By using init.d or something?

If possible could someone point me in the right direction?

I'm asking because i need to use some apps, that require that the phone is not rooted, and the only thing i use root for is setting CPU undervolt.

Thanks
Cool username.

sent from my neXus 5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes