FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q] CPU undervolt without root, franco kernel

126 posts
Thanks Meter: 8
 
By cnrd, Senior Member on 3rd April 2014, 04:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi

Does anyone know if it is possible to set undervolt (and max frequency) with franco kernel and stock rom, without root?

By using init.d or something?

If possible could someone point me in the right direction?

I'm asking because i need to use some apps, that require that the phone is not rooted, and the only thing i use root for is setting CPU undervolt.

Thanks
 
 
3rd April 2014, 04:20 PM |#2  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,633
 
More
Eh? You mean you've unrooted your phone since flashing?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
3rd April 2014, 04:21 PM |#3  
Dakura's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Samsun
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Nope, you can't mess with cpu voltage without root, that's absolutely not possible, if it was, it would be catasthrophic for service centers
3rd April 2014, 04:23 PM |#4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,994
 
More
no, you need root to use the apps to set voltages, you can not change those files without root access.
3rd April 2014, 04:24 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?
3rd April 2014, 04:27 PM |#6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,994
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__--

What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?

still wont work
3rd April 2014, 05:14 PM |#7  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,811
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__--

What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?

The voltages settings revert to stock on reboot and need to be re-applied at each boot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2014, 01:33 AM |#8  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag The Old Republic
Thanks Meter: 8,062
 
More
Delete the apps that require being unrooted ....whatever they may be.

Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, G Tab 3 or S2.....
4th April 2014, 04:36 AM |#9  
OuncE718's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC by way of BK
Thanks Meter: 323
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__--

Hi

Does anyone know if it is possible to set undervolt (and max frequency) with franco kernel and stock rom, without root?

By using init.d or something?

If possible could someone point me in the right direction?

I'm asking because i need to use some apps, that require that the phone is not rooted, and the only thing i use root for is setting CPU undervolt.

Thanks

Cool username.

sent from my neXus 5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes