FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

[Q] CPU undervolt without root, franco kernel

Thanks Meter: 8
 
By cnrd, Senior Member on 3rd April 2014, 04:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi

Does anyone know if it is possible to set undervolt (and max frequency) with franco kernel and stock rom, without root?

By using init.d or something?

If possible could someone point me in the right direction?

I'm asking because i need to use some apps, that require that the phone is not rooted, and the only thing i use root for is setting CPU undervolt.

Thanks
 
 
3rd April 2014, 04:20 PM |#2  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,433
 
More
Eh? You mean you've unrooted your phone since flashing?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
3rd April 2014, 04:21 PM |#3  
Dakura's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Samsun
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Nope, you can't mess with cpu voltage without root, that's absolutely not possible, if it was, it would be catasthrophic for service centers
3rd April 2014, 04:23 PM |#4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,287
 
More
no, you need root to use the apps to set voltages, you can not change those files without root access.
3rd April 2014, 04:24 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?
3rd April 2014, 04:27 PM |#6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,287
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__--

What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?

still wont work
3rd April 2014, 05:14 PM |#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 17,738
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__--

What about rooting, permanently set the cpu voltage settings and then unroot?

The voltages settings revert to stock on reboot and need to be re-applied at each boot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2014, 01:33 AM |#8  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag The Old Republic
Thanks Meter: 7,340
 
More
Delete the apps that require being unrooted ....whatever they may be.

Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, G Tab 3 or S2.....
4th April 2014, 04:36 AM |#9  
OuncE718's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC by way of BK
Thanks Meter: 322
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by --__--

Hi

Does anyone know if it is possible to set undervolt (and max frequency) with franco kernel and stock rom, without root?

By using init.d or something?

If possible could someone point me in the right direction?

I'm asking because i need to use some apps, that require that the phone is not rooted, and the only thing i use root for is setting CPU undervolt.

Thanks

Cool username.

sent from my neXus 5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes