Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q]Crazy Wallpaper Issues[Q]

OP jaaystott

15th March 2014, 09:30 AM   |  #1  
jaaystott's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chelsea
Thanks Meter: 112
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
This is starting to really frustrate me now!

When applying a background to my phone, weather it be from the Gallery or integrated wallpapers, sometimes it will jump around on the homescreen. For example I will be in an app, press the home button and on going to the home screen the wallpaper will momentarily zoom in then zoom back out to normal. As this is happening the phone has excessive lag.

I've tried to isolate the issue, thought it might be a bad factory reset but my sister is over this weekend and hers is the same! it doesn't happen when running any applications in particular, it's literally random but when it starts doing it it will keep doing it. Restarting the phone doesn't fix.
15th March 2014, 10:32 AM   |  #2  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,083 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaystott

This is starting to really frustrate me now!

When applying a background to my phone, weather it be from the Gallery or integrated wallpapers, sometimes it will jump around on the homescreen. For example I will be in an app, press the home button and on going to the home screen the wallpaper will momentarily zoom in then zoom back out to normal. As this is happening the phone has excessive lag.

I've tried to isolate the issue, thought it might be a bad factory reset but my sister is over this weekend and hers is the same! it doesn't happen when running any applications in particular, it's literally random but when it starts doing it it will keep doing it. Restarting the phone doesn't fix.

What ROM and wallpaper?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
15th March 2014, 10:33 AM   |  #3  
jaaystott's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chelsea
Thanks Meter: 112
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

What ROM and wallpaper?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk

My bad, should have mentioned. Both of us are 100% stock, just checked my mums is doing it too. Any wallpaper, it doesn't matter.
15th March 2014, 10:35 AM   |  #4  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,083 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaystott

My bad, should have mentioned. Both of us are 100% stock, just checked my mums is doing it too. Any wallpaper, it doesn't matter.

Weird. I'm on stock and everything is fine... Try downloading a different launcher for now and see if it still happens. Doesn't have to be permanent, this is just for testing purposes.
15th March 2014, 10:36 AM   |  #5  
jaaystott's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chelsea
Thanks Meter: 112
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

Weird. I'm on stock and everything is fine... Try downloading a different launcher for now and see if it still happens. Doesn't have to be permanent, this is just for testing purposes.

Already tried that too and it doesn't do it. I will try and get a video of it, just depends if they will let me borrow one of their phones.
15th March 2014, 10:37 AM   |  #6  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,083 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaystott

Already tried that too and it doesn't do it. I will try and get a video of it, just depends if they will let me borrow one of their phones.

Get a logcat too if you can. I probably won't be able to read it, but hopefully somebody with more experience will wander by.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
15th March 2014, 10:40 AM   |  #7  
jaaystott's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chelsea
Thanks Meter: 112
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

Get a logcat too if you can. I probably won't be able to read it, but hopefully somebody with more experience will wander by.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk

I should know this but been out of the game for a long time, how do I go about getting a logcat? Managed to get a video of it, just transferring it to my phone now.

I heard someone else mentioning they were having these issues, they put it down to an update with google Search, however google Search has since been updated and the issues are persisting.
15th March 2014, 10:45 AM   |  #8  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,083 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaystott

I should know this but been out of the game for a long time, how do I go about getting a logcat? Managed to get a video of it, just transferring it to my phone now.

I heard someone else mentioning they were having these issues, they put it down to an update with google Search, however google Search has since been updated and the issues are persisting.

It's all good. First you'll need adb to be installed. I usually run adb on ubuntu, so I'm not experienced with windows commands.

On ubuntu. open terminal, connect phone, make sure usb debugging is enabled. You'll probably recieve a warning about an RSA fingerprint, which you will accept. Then in terminal, do

sudo su
adb start-server
now cd into whatever directory you want to store your logcat in
Once in the directory, run "adb logcat -v long > wallpaper.txt"
Reporduce the problem
Kill the logcat
Open the text file that was created
Either upload the file or pastebin it and post the link
Done!
15th March 2014, 10:59 AM   |  #9  
jaaystott's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chelsea
Thanks Meter: 112
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

It's all good. First you'll need adb to be installed. I usually run adb on ubuntu, so I'm not experienced with windows commands.

On ubuntu. open terminal, connect phone, make sure usb debugging is enabled. You'll probably receive a warning about an RSA fingerprint, which you will accept. Then in terminal, do

sudo su
adb start-server
now cd into whatever directory you want to store your logcat in
Once in the directory, run "adb logcat -v long > wallpaper.txt"
Reporduce the problem
Kill the logcat
Open the text file that was created
Either upload the file or pastebin it and post the link
Done!

Doesn't that require root? Not 100% how to do that though, I used to be pretty good with ADB but unfortunately that was back in the Desire days and I've not really been into rooting since I got my HOX last year I change devices too much. Anyway, here is the video documenting the issue.

http://youtu.be/pBeNpwP5TFQ
15th March 2014, 11:07 AM   |  #10  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,083 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaystott

Doesn't that require root? Not 100% how to do that though, I used to be pretty good with ADB but unfortunately that was back in the Desire days and I've not really been into rooting since I got my HOX last year I change devices too much. Anyway, here is the video documenting the issue.

http://youtu.be/pBeNpwP5TFQ

And you said your entire family is experiencing this? Ok go to about phone and tap Build Number a bunch of times. Should activate dev settings. Just see if you can get adb to work at all. I'm not certain whether it requires root or not. It confuses me that your family all has this problem, but it hasn't been reported by the rest of the Nexus 5 users around the world...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes