Post Reply

[Q] CyanogenMod nightly for N5 4.4.2 doesn't have transparent status bar and nav bar?

OP pyrogoggles

15th April 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #1  
pyrogoggles's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Spartanburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
I installed the last Nightly of CyanogenMod, and there was an issue with the nav bar and status bar. In Android 4.4.2. and all of the screenshots I've seen of CM on Nexus 5s, I've never seen an issue with someone not having the transparent status bar and nav bar. Is there a way I can fix this, or do I need to install the Snapshot instead? Thanks.


Also, to install any ROMs, I've only booted into a custom recovery. I've never completely installed a custom recovery, as I had some problems with it not letting me mount to USB-OTG. If someone knows how to fix this too, please help.
15th April 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrogoggles

I installed the last Nightly of CyanogenMod, and there was an issue with the nav bar and status bar. In Android 4.4.2. and all of the screenshots I've seen of CM on Nexus 5s, I've never seen an issue with someone not having the transparent status bar and nav bar. Is there a way I can fix this, or do I need to install the Snapshot instead? Thanks.

Regarding the status bar, I really have no idea, but I have some experience with CM-based roms on a different device, and I would suggest that you look in the build.prop file and see if ro.config.low_ram is set to "true". If it is set that way, change it to "false". That may enable the parts of the framework that include the transparent status bar.
15th April 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #3  
pyrogoggles's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Spartanburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJMT

Regarding the status bar, I really have no idea, but I have some experience with CM-based roms on a different device, and I would suggest that you look in the build.prop file and see if ro.config.low_ram is set to "true". If it is set that way, change it to "false". That may enable the parts of the framework that include the transparent status bar.

I meant to mention that besides it not being transparent, it had the normal 4.3 black background, however, the black background has a smaller margin and the icons at the top were at the VERY bottom of the margin on that box.
15th April 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #4  
Carloskeee's Avatar
Member
Flag Longview, TX
Thanks Meter: 113
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrogoggles

I meant to mention that besides it not being transparent, it had the normal 4.3 black background, however, the black background has a smaller margin and the icons at the top were at the VERY bottom of the margin on that box.

Are you using apex? I had this problem and icouldn't figure out why. turns out it was the CM11 Wallpapers. Try using a different wallpaper. It will be fully transparent. That fixed it for me anyway. Goodluck.
15th April 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #5  
pyrogoggles's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Spartanburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carloskeee

Are you using apex? I had this problem and icouldn't figure out why. turns out it was the CM11 Wallpapers. Try using a different wallpaper. It will be fully transparent. That fixed it for me anyway. Goodluck.

Ah, I see. I do not use Apex either, I freaking love GEL and will not get rid of it. When I get home, I'll reflash Cyanogen with the CM installer and I'll fix this. Thanks very much, buddy.
29th April 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #6  
pyrogoggles's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Spartanburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
I got it all fixed now. I'm probably not keeping CM11, as I've found some ROMs on here that look really good.
justinisloco
29th April 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrogoggles

I got it all fixed now. I'm probably not keeping CM11, as I've found some ROMs on here that look really good.

Maybe it was their wallpaper selection.
Unfortunately, alot of the wallpapers on the selection are not big enough to crop well to the screen... That is why it looks like they aren't translucent

And the CM11 installer is, unfortunately one of the reasons for that as well, its made to work across multiple devices, including ones not with softkeys...
Last edited by justinisloco; 29th April 2014 at 08:42 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank