5,598,086 Members 41,009 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] D821 (Rest of the World model) use in Canada

Tip us?
 
jodoog
Old
(Last edited by jodoog; 3rd December 2013 at 11:57 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thumbs up [Q] D821 (Rest of the World model) use in Canada

Hi,

Looking for some advice. I've recently purchased a British Google Nexus 5 from Google Play. However I plan to move to Canada shortly.

-> Would the lack of support for LTE band 4 on the D821 model result in any problems in Canada? (I was hoping to join either Koodo or Virgin mobile on 4G).

Much appreciated
 
Elisha
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 409
Posts: 1,981
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jodoog View Post
Hi,

Looking for some advice. I've recently purchased a British Google Nexus 5 from Google Play. However I plan to move to Canada shortly.

-> Would the lack of support for LTE band 4 on the D821 model result in any problems in Canada? (I was hoping to join either Koodo or Virgin mobile on 4G).

Much appreciated
Rogers runs on 2600mhz as well. And Bell has 2600mhz in some markets.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Elisha For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jodoog
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
Rogers runs on 2600mhz as well. And Bell has 2600mhz in some markets.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Ok thanks.

Looks like Bell (and companies using their network) don't have 2600mhz in Ottawa so that's out.

Do you know if Fido has access to Roger's 2600mhz network around the Ottawa region? (I'm trying to find a month by month contract)

I might be better off returning my current Nexus :/
 
Elisha
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 409
Posts: 1,981
Join Date: Oct 2007
Rogers claims that their 2600mhz is available in all LTE markets. Fido uses the Rogers network so it will have the same reception as Rogers.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Elisha For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes