Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Data Randomly dropping but signal fine

OP Reoryn

12th November 2013, 04:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
This is driving me nuts so if anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears

My Nexus 5 keeps dropping data. The Signal bar will still display full with H, but nothing will connect. If I'm running a ping it'll just stop and then eventually kick back in with 10000ms or something - Anything else i'm trying to do just plain won't connect. Could understand if I was losing signal but I don't seem to be.

Haven't had a chance to try the sim in my old phone yet to find out whether it's the network or the phone - was just wondering if anyone had experienced anything similar? :S

Ta.
13th November 2013, 12:54 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 10
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reoryn

This is driving me nuts so if anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears

My Nexus 5 keeps dropping data. The Signal bar will still display full with H, but nothing will connect. If I'm running a ping it'll just stop and then eventually kick back in with 10000ms or something - Anything else i'm trying to do just plain won't connect. Could understand if I was losing signal but I don't seem to be.

Haven't had a chance to try the sim in my old phone yet to find out whether it's the network or the phone - was just wondering if anyone had experienced anything similar? :S

Ta.

happening to me with sprint 3g on the unofficial cm 10.2. have to toggle airplane mode, not sure if its a CM thing or a sprint thing since i literally flashed CM the next day i got it lol
3rd December 2013, 12:31 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 10
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
still happens
a few cm11 updates and almost a month later its still happening
29th March 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I just started experiencing this same thing in the last week. Real frustrating part of it (beyond the obvious) is that there is no way to tell this is happening unless you are actively using the network at the moment the signal is lost. So if the phone is in your pocket and not being used, you'll really have no way of knowing whether you are missing important phone calls/text messages simply by looking at the display of the phone. Each time I only notice when I am trying to load a web page and it says I'm not connected to the internet (even though it shows that I have a strong LTE connection). Talked to both Google and T-Mobile about this and both basically pointed their fingers at the other. I'm pretty convinced that the problem is on Google's/LG's end though.

Getting my third RMA in the mail next week. Will likely take them up on their refund offer if this continues. Believe it or not, the intermittent loss of data isn't even the reason I set up the initial RMA (or the reason I sent back the first two RMA's I received).
Last edited by Johnny Broccoli; 29th March 2014 at 11:41 PM.
30th March 2014, 04:56 AM   |  #5  
okmijnlp's Avatar
Senior Member
Manchester
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have this on both Three and GiffGaff in the UK. I also had this problem on my old Galaxy S2, so maybe it's an android problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
30th March 2014, 05:46 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,279
 
3,178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by okmijnlp

I have this on both Three and GiffGaff in the UK. I also had this problem on my old Galaxy S2, so maybe it's an android problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/03...-to-see-fixed/

Fix for frequent data connection dropouts.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes