Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

Data Randomly dropping but signal fine

12th November 2013, 03:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
This is driving me nuts so if anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears

My Nexus 5 keeps dropping data. The Signal bar will still display full with H, but nothing will connect. If I'm running a ping it'll just stop and then eventually kick back in with 10000ms or something - Anything else i'm trying to do just plain won't connect. Could understand if I was losing signal but I don't seem to be.

Haven't had a chance to try the sim in my old phone yet to find out whether it's the network or the phone - was just wondering if anyone had experienced anything similar? :S

Ta.
12th November 2013, 11:54 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reoryn

This is driving me nuts so if anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears

My Nexus 5 keeps dropping data. The Signal bar will still display full with H, but nothing will connect. If I'm running a ping it'll just stop and then eventually kick back in with 10000ms or something - Anything else i'm trying to do just plain won't connect. Could understand if I was losing signal but I don't seem to be.

Haven't had a chance to try the sim in my old phone yet to find out whether it's the network or the phone - was just wondering if anyone had experienced anything similar? :S

Ta.

happening to me with sprint 3g on the unofficial cm 10.2. have to toggle airplane mode, not sure if its a CM thing or a sprint thing since i literally flashed CM the next day i got it lol
2nd December 2013, 11:31 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
still happens
a few cm11 updates and almost a month later its still happening
29th March 2014, 10:35 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I just started experiencing this same thing in the last week. Real frustrating part of it (beyond the obvious) is that there is no way to tell this is happening unless you are actively using the network at the moment the signal is lost. So if the phone is in your pocket and not being used, you'll really have no way of knowing whether you are missing important phone calls/text messages simply by looking at the display of the phone. Each time I only notice when I am trying to load a web page and it says I'm not connected to the internet (even though it shows that I have a strong LTE connection). Talked to both Google and T-Mobile about this and both basically pointed their fingers at the other. I'm pretty convinced that the problem is on Google's/LG's end though.

Getting my third RMA in the mail next week. Will likely take them up on their refund offer if this continues. Believe it or not, the intermittent loss of data isn't even the reason I set up the initial RMA (or the reason I sent back the first two RMA's I received).
Last edited by Johnny Broccoli; 29th March 2014 at 10:41 PM.
30th March 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #5  
okmijnlp's Avatar
Senior Member
Manchester
Thanks Meter: 342
 
1,078 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have this on both Three and GiffGaff in the UK. I also had this problem on my old Galaxy S2, so maybe it's an android problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
30th March 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,250
 
3,128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by okmijnlp

I have this on both Three and GiffGaff in the UK. I also had this problem on my old Galaxy S2, so maybe it's an android problem?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/03...-to-see-fixed/

Fix for frequent data connection dropouts.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank