FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

Dd-wrt VPN on stock 4.4.2

263 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By dbldown768, Senior Member on 11th December 2013, 01:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm running a full stock N5 and trying to tunnel to my VPN with no luck. Have other tried this setup. It worked with my SGS2 phone.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
 
 
12th December 2013, 03:38 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
No one has tried VPN with their device?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
12th December 2013, 03:40 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 247
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbldown768

No one has tried VPN with their device?

What type of VPN? I'm using PPTP to my cisco router - works fine. I'm not using the cisco VPN client - just the native Android client
12th December 2013, 03:59 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Same thing. Pptp. Just tried the client in the settings.

My concern was maybe because I'm not rooted that there is a similar flag restricting this connection just like the flag restricting tethering in the database file.

As I said these same settings worked on my old SGS2

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
12th December 2013, 04:12 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 247
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbldown768

Same thing. Pptp. Just tried the client in the settings.

My concern was maybe because I'm not rooted that there is a similar flag restricting this connection just like the flag restricting tethering in the database file.

As I said these same settings worked on my old SGS2

I am rooted, but I don't think that should cause a connection problem. (I didn't have to change any setting to get it to work).
What problem are you facing?
12th December 2013, 04:31 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
It just doesn't connect. It doesn't give any exception or error which makes it hard to diagnose.

In the past I've had issues with VPN. They seem to get resolved depending in android versions. Meaning at one point it didn't work on say 4.0 but then was resolved with 4.1.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
30th December 2013, 02:12 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
So now I have been unable to setup PPTP as well as OpenVPN on my N5 stock. Has anyone with a stock unrooted
N5 got either of these working on the tmo $30 plan?
Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
30th December 2013, 02:21 PM |#8  
PhilipTD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 401
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbldown768

So now I have been unable to setup PPTP as well as OpenVPN on my N5 stock. Has anyone with a stock unrooted
N5 got either of these working on the tmo $30 plan?
Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2

After trying unsuccessfully to use OpenVPN, I got PureVPN and never looked back. It's fast, connects immediately every time, and only costs 50 bucks a year.

Sent from my Nexus 5
31st December 2013, 12:11 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
For as frequent as I used it PPTP worked just fine. I don't get if this limitation is from the N5 or from the service. It is hard to compare since my last device worked was a S2 on sprint.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
6th March 2014, 03:36 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have problem with VPN, but not from stock.

I have S4 with 4.4.2 and I can connect to PPTP VPN on my DD-WRT, but it have packet loss, some apps do not work, and after few minutes it stops working with 100% packet loss, while still showing as connected to VPN.

It is possibly due to reported 4.4.2 bug where VPN does not take correct max packet size.
6th March 2014, 11:56 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I resolved this issue by setting ip4/6 in the settings instead of just ip6 which was on by default.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes