Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Pull storage from damaged device

OP dndwanted

25th August 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
So I accidentally dropped my nexus 5 and I need to replace my display but unfortunately I haven't backed up my data (mostly pictures I'm worrying about the most). So is there a way to pull the storage from it? I've tried with adb and it doesn't work because it doesn't list my device.

I really hope there is a way to do it.
25th August 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,806
 
24,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
If USB works and its not detecting adb, then its set up wrong. Adb is the only way if both touch and display are broken.

Please click the link in my signature and read the adb and fastboot thread. It will tell you how to set it up properly

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
25th August 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Does it matter if I had an unlock code for my lockscreen?
25th August 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,806
 
24,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dndwanted

Does it matter if I had an unlock code for my lockscreen?

Yes it does.

Don't suppose you have a custom recovery do you?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
25th August 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
My phone was rooted and I had latest TWRP with latest Paranoid Android,
25th August 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,806
 
24,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dndwanted

My phone was rooted and I had latest TWRP with latest Paranoid Android,

Adb in recovery then. See the thread i previously told you about

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
25th August 2014, 03:16 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I can't seem to make it work.
In "adb devices", it shows a device listed but in "fastboot devices" it doesn't show any device. When I tried to boot into fastboot mode I couldn't tell if I booted correctly because it shows the same thing as when I boot it normally.

I tried using the command "adb pull data/media/0 C:\adb\sdcard_25082014" and it gave me the error "remote object data/media/0 does not exist".

What should I do?
25th August 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #8  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,806
 
24,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dndwanted

I can't seem to make it work.
In "adb devices", it shows a device listed but in "fastboot devices" it doesn't show any device. When I tried to boot into fastboot mode I couldn't tell if I booted correctly because it shows the same thing as when I boot it normally.

I tried using the command "adb pull data/media/0 C:\adb\sdcard_25082014" and it gave me the error "remote object data/media/0 does not exist".

What should I do?

You've not read my thread properly. Try again

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
25th August 2014, 03:29 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I installed the adb in 15 seconds thing and then I followed this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...w-hep-t2807273

Please tell me what have I done wrong because I can't seem to figure it out.
25th August 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Unfortunately I don't know a solution to your problem, but your data shouldn't get lost when you replace the screen.
I replaced mine a week ago. Actually it was very easy. The most difficult part was removing the backcover.
The parts inside of the device are fixed with a little bit of glue which is not strong at all.
The whole replacement took me around 20 Minutes and I have never done something like that before.
After that everything was still on my phone.

And if your device doesn't get recognized from your computer in fastboot mode you should try the universal adb driver. This works perfectly for my Nexus 5.
Last edited by ChickenNugget; 25th August 2014 at 03:42 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes