Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more

Has ART Made a Noticeable Jump in App Performance?

We’ve received mixed reports about switching to ART but it seems that the … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge Drop Test

The Samsung Galaxy S6 and Galaxy S6 Edge are already proving to be amongst the head turners of 2015. … more

Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] cannot dial all emergency numbers in Israel

1st May 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #11  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,207
 
27,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by petch04

so any idea what can I do?

It may help to know what country you are in... and perhaps put it in the thread title to get a better response. Could I suggest your title is changed to something like "cannot dial all emergency numbers in <country>"?
1st May 2014, 05:02 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

It may help to know what country you are in... and perhaps put it in the thread title to get a better response. Could I suggest your title is changed to something like "cannot dial all emergency numbers in <country>"?

Edited
Last edited by petch04; 1st May 2014 at 05:16 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to petch04 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2014, 12:22 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
wash dc
Thanks Meter: 24
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by petch04

Hello. Where I live we have a different number for every emergency case, one number for the police, one for an ambulance and another one for the fire department but every time I try to call to an ambulance, my NEXUS 5 gets to the police meaning it calls 911. how do i change it from 911 to another number? (in the dialer i dial the right number but it still doesnt work) even though I dial 101 (ambulance) it calls 911 I need to change the emergency number default from 911
Device Information: Nexus 5 D821 32GB

a shot in the dark (but i'm about to test it test week while in mexico with location services set to HIGH)


do you, have location / & location reporting services turned ON?


i know, it may sound like it has NOTHING to do with emergency calling, but, think on it,

how tight google has been working to make kitkat so uniformed with google now services, look up via the phone dialer, etc..

it's almost a mystery what features *location* actually have & how deep they burrow -

http://http://forums.androidcentral....fferences.html

i mean it's a shot in the dark, if your in a country other than the US (with a phone marketed by an US company) just maybe, those defaults in the phone dialer may change, with location / location reporting..

~shrugz shoulderz~


i could be right, or dead wrong..

what does it hurt.. to *try* ..

---------- Post added at 11:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:49 PM ----------

"..(in the dialer i dial the right number but it still doesnt work) even though I dial 101 (ambulance) it calls 911 I need to change the emergency number default from 911
Device Information: Nexus 5 D821 32GB.."



what i'd really be shocked at, is if the 911 emergency dialing is (shockingly) hard coded into the google dialer, EVEN THOUGH that nexus 5 is markerted to *the rest of the world* (Device Information: Nexus 5 D821), ither it's a terrible over-sight, or it's not hard coded at all.. (i hope not)..

it shouldn't be, that's i suspect the missing piece would be location / location services, to right what's wrong..
Last edited by j'vai; 1st May 2014 at 11:56 PM.
3rd May 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by j'vai

a shot in the dark (but i'm about to test it test week while in mexico with location services set to HIGH)


do you, have location / & location reporting services turned ON?


i know, it may sound like it has NOTHING to do with emergency calling, but, think on it,

how tight google has been working to make kitkat so uniformed with google now services, look up via the phone dialer, etc..

it's almost a mystery what features *location* actually have & how deep they burrow -

http://http://forums.androidcentral....fferences.html

i mean it's a shot in the dark, if your in a country other than the US (with a phone marketed by an US company) just maybe, those defaults in the phone dialer may change, with location / location reporting..

~shrugz shoulderz~


i could be right, or dead wrong..

what does it hurt.. to *try* ..

---------- Post added at 11:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:49 PM ----------

"..(in the dialer i dial the right number but it still doesnt work) even though I dial 101 (ambulance) it calls 911 I need to change the emergency number default from 911
Device Information: Nexus 5 D821 32GB.."



what i'd really be shocked at, is if the 911 emergency dialing is (shockingly) hard coded into the google dialer, EVEN THOUGH that nexus 5 is markerted to *the rest of the world* (Device Information: Nexus 5 D821), ither it's a terrible over-sight, or it's not hard coded at all.. (i hope not)..

it shouldn't be, that's i suspect the missing piece would be location / location services, to right what's wrong..

The location & location reporting services are turned on...
still not working
4th May 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
help....
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes