Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Dirty Unicorns for Dummies

OP schleima

20th August 2014, 12:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Can anyone suggest an appropriate forum for discussing the thousands of features available on Dirty Unicorns/Hammerhead?

I've been using DU for several months now, and love the speed and stability, but am baffled by the seemingly limitless customization options.

And lately, I've been unintentionally recording my screen, and there is no obvious way to stop the screen from recording. It's driving me nuts.

When did I become my grandfather?

Thanks for your help.
20th August 2014, 10:31 AM   |  #2  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
4,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schleima

Can anyone suggest an appropriate forum for discussing the thousands of features available on Dirty Unicorns/Hammerhead?

DU's thread (you need 10 posts though) or on their G+ community.
20th August 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #3  
Pain-N-Panic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Droid
Thanks Meter: 208
 
864 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I love DU. I've been running it as my daily since I got the nexus. Best ROM hands down! Feel free to PM me if you have questions.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda premium
21st August 2014, 12:09 AM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,413
 
26,730 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain-N-Panic

Best ROM hands down!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda premium

so i guess that my personal needs and wants dont matter when it comes to a "best rom", as long aa it includes everything? i personally HATE overloaded roms, and overloaded roms are slower than other roms. so, i dont personally think that du is even close to a " best rom".

my whole point is that there is no such thing as a best rom. as everybody has differing needs and wants. there is only the rom thats best for you.
Last edited by simms22; 21st August 2014 at 01:10 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #5  
Pain-N-Panic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Droid
Thanks Meter: 208
 
864 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Lol woah there cowboy. Its the best ROM hands down I'm my opinion! Of course your entitled to your own wants and needs out of a ROM. However, although DU stacked full of features, it is smoother than any stock based custom ROM that I have tried. That is my personal experience which leads me to my statement of DU being the best ROM out for this device. Didn't mean to step on any toes with my comment.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda premium
21st August 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,413
 
26,730 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain-N-Panic

Lol woah there cowboy. Its the best ROM hands down I'm my opinion! Of course your entitled to your own wants and needs out of a ROM. However, although DU stacked full of features, it is smoother than any stock based custom ROM that I have tried. That is my personal experience which leads me to my statement of DU being the best ROM out for this device. Didn't mean to step on any toes with my comment.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda premium

just so you know, smooth has nothing to do with speed nor anything important. my nexus s is smooth. oh, and im glad you tried stock based roms, and gained knowledge of their smoothness. you should try other aosp based roms and cm based roms, maybe youll learn that there are other things out there, better things. but again, smoothness has nothing to do with speed nor anything really important. what slower means that they are slowed down, in speed and performance. and yes, numbers dont like. benchmark your phone while on different roms, you will see yourself.
22nd September 2014, 01:29 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Manchester-ish
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Would in this thread be a good place to ask my question? if so how do I update DU on hammerhead? if not please just tell me how to delete my post and I will.
22nd September 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 174
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by R00tGet

Would in this thread be a good place to ask my question? if so how do I update DU on hammerhead? if not please just tell me how to delete my post and I will.

assuming you have already DU running as your updating, just download the newest update and flash that with gapps.

BACKUP...

- Make sure you have a custom recovery
- Wipe everything but your external/internal storage
- Flash ROM
- Flash the recommended GAPPS
- Reboot and ENJOY!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...ad-05-t2588152
The Following User Says Thank You to republicano For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd September 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Manchester-ish
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by republicano

assuming you have already DU running as your updating, just download the newest update and flash that with gapps.

BACKUP...

- Make sure you have a custom recovery
- Wipe everything but your external/internal storage
- Flash ROM
- Flash the recommended GAPPS
- Reboot and ENJOY!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...ad-05-t2588152

Thanks, I'm used to updating on CM.
22nd September 2014, 08:44 AM   |  #10  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
4,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by R00tGet

Thanks, I'm used to updating on CM.

To update a custom ROM (aka dirty flash):
1. Nandroid backup
2. Flash ROM
3. Reboot

A dirty flash or a clean flash is not different for each rom. The way you update CM is the same on DU for instance.
You can always do a dirty flash while updating a custom rom expect if you are having FCs or if the dev says that a clean flash is recommended for a specific update.

The Following User Says Thank You to Primokorn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes