Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Don't hate me, but with the Unlocking...

OP justinisloco

justinisloco
19th February 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #1  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
I have unlocked and rooted my phone. I am proud of the fact that it is mine. I know to most people it isn't an issue, and it isn't THAT big of a deal, but i would like it to go away anyway...

Is there a way to hide the Lock Icon you get after unlocking the bootloader in the Boot sequence?
19th February 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,804
 
24,979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yes. Re lock the bootloader with the "bootlocker" app

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
19th February 2014, 09:47 PM   |  #3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,795
 
27,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes. Re lock the bootloader with the "bootlocker" app

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

or lock it with fastboot oem lock
19th February 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,804
 
24,979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

or lock it with fastboot oem lock

I'd prefer to recommend bootlocker. Once you have root access, you can lock / unlock /reset tamper flag at will without connecting to a pc.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
19th February 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #5  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,539
 
5,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

I'd prefer to recommend bootlocker. Once you have root access, you can lock / unlock /reset tamper flag at will without connecting to a pc.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

You sure its not Boot"UN"locker? I've never heard of an app that did this so, out of curiosity, I searched for "bootlocker" and found "bootunlocker" instead.
justinisloco
19th February 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #6  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes. Re lock the bootloader with the "bootlocker" app

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Is relocking it going to cause an issue if I decide to install a rom in the future? Or use Wugfresh to lock and unroot? Or will it be seamless?
19th February 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,804
 
24,979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsgraphicart

You sure its not Boot"UN"locker? I've never heard of an app that did this so, out of curiosity, I searched for "bootlocker" and found "bootunlocker" instead.

Sorry, yes. Unlocker.





Quote:
Originally Posted by justinisloco

Is relocking it going to cause an issue if I decide to install a rom in the future? Or use Wugfresh to lock and unroot? Or will it be seamless?

You can still flash roms via recovery with a locked bootloader. You just need to unlock the bootloader again to update your recovery.

DON'T EVER USE TOOLKITS


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
justinisloco
19th February 2014, 10:15 PM   |  #8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Sorry, yes. Unlocker.







You can still flash roms via recovery with a locked bootloader. You just need to unlock the bootloader again to update your recovery.

DON'T EVER USE TOOLKITS


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Just to update recovery I will need to relock the bootloader?

And out of curiosity, why not use Toolkits? If its to help me gain experience, I usually have no problem using adb, but I'm at work and figured it was easier. That, and I am lazy
19th February 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #9  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,582
 
3,956 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
As rootSU said, this is what you want. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...1.bootunlocker

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,804
 
24,979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinisloco

Just to update recovery I will need to relock the bootloader?

And out of curiosity, why not use Toolkits? If its to help me gain experience, I usually have no problem using adb, but I'm at work and figured it was easier. That, and I am lazy

No. You'd need to unlock the bootloader to update recovery.

Its easy enough without toolkits. Being lazy and taking shortcuts is dangerous.

adb isn't really related to anything we're discussing here

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes