Would the LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Don't hate me, but with the Unlocking...

justinisloco
19th February 2014, 08:30 PM |#1  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
I have unlocked and rooted my phone. I am proud of the fact that it is mine. I know to most people it isn't an issue, and it isn't THAT big of a deal, but i would like it to go away anyway...

Is there a way to hide the Lock Icon you get after unlocking the bootloader in the Boot sequence?
19th February 2014, 08:41 PM |#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,263
 
27,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yes. Re lock the bootloader with the "bootlocker" app

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
19th February 2014, 08:47 PM |#3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,729
 
28,890 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes. Re lock the bootloader with the "bootlocker" app

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

or lock it with fastboot oem lock
19th February 2014, 08:56 PM |#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,263
 
27,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

or lock it with fastboot oem lock

I'd prefer to recommend bootlocker. Once you have root access, you can lock / unlock /reset tamper flag at will without connecting to a pc.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
19th February 2014, 09:04 PM |#5  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,584
 
5,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

I'd prefer to recommend bootlocker. Once you have root access, you can lock / unlock /reset tamper flag at will without connecting to a pc.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

You sure its not Boot"UN"locker? I've never heard of an app that did this so, out of curiosity, I searched for "bootlocker" and found "bootunlocker" instead.
justinisloco
19th February 2014, 09:05 PM |#6  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes. Re lock the bootloader with the "bootlocker" app

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Is relocking it going to cause an issue if I decide to install a rom in the future? Or use Wugfresh to lock and unroot? Or will it be seamless?
19th February 2014, 09:07 PM |#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,263
 
27,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsgraphicart

You sure its not Boot"UN"locker? I've never heard of an app that did this so, out of curiosity, I searched for "bootlocker" and found "bootunlocker" instead.

Sorry, yes. Unlocker.





Quote:
Originally Posted by justinisloco

Is relocking it going to cause an issue if I decide to install a rom in the future? Or use Wugfresh to lock and unroot? Or will it be seamless?

You can still flash roms via recovery with a locked bootloader. You just need to unlock the bootloader again to update your recovery.

DON'T EVER USE TOOLKITS


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
justinisloco
19th February 2014, 09:15 PM |#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Sorry, yes. Unlocker.







You can still flash roms via recovery with a locked bootloader. You just need to unlock the bootloader again to update your recovery.

DON'T EVER USE TOOLKITS


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Just to update recovery I will need to relock the bootloader?

And out of curiosity, why not use Toolkits? If its to help me gain experience, I usually have no problem using adb, but I'm at work and figured it was easier. That, and I am lazy
19th February 2014, 09:17 PM |#9  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,057
 
4,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
As rootSU said, this is what you want. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...1.bootunlocker

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2014, 09:26 PM |#10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,263
 
27,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinisloco

Just to update recovery I will need to relock the bootloader?

And out of curiosity, why not use Toolkits? If its to help me gain experience, I usually have no problem using adb, but I'm at work and figured it was easier. That, and I am lazy

No. You'd need to unlock the bootloader to update recovery.

Its easy enough without toolkits. Being lazy and taking shortcuts is dangerous.

adb isn't really related to anything we're discussing here

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes