Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

GPS fix?

25th August 2014, 10:08 PM   |  #1  
rtotheichie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lexington, SC
Thanks Meter: 128
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
So what few threads about the Nexus 5 GPS I could find are pretty old and not involved anymore, so I was wondering if anybody has definitively found a fix for the horrid GPS on or otherwise great phone?

The reason I bring this up is because whenever I use an app the requires GPS (maps, Ingress, etc.), it usually takes several minutes to get a lock (even in the open), and it is horribly inaccurate (sometimes as much as a 1/4 mile or more) in both location and orientation (which way the phone is pointing)

I've used GPS Status to calibrate my compass and download AGPS data, but still no consistent improvement.

Any thoughts?
25th August 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #2  
rolling_stone's Avatar
Member
Flag Matosinhos
Thanks Meter: 15
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Don't ask me why, cause i Don't know why, reboot your Phone with GPS on. Your Phone should fix in a few seconds.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2
26th August 2014, 02:15 AM   |  #3  
rtotheichie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lexington, SC
Thanks Meter: 128
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolling_stone

Don't ask me why, cause i Don't know why, reboot your Phone with GPS on. Your Phone should fix in a few seconds.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk 2

Yeah that's kind of the only workaround I've been able to find, but that's very inconvenient to do multiple times. I was hoping to find a more permanent fix
26th August 2014, 07:44 AM   |  #4  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,311
 
7,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
People say it seems to be the 4.4.3+ radios. So if you have root access and recovery flash this - https://app.box.com/s/zvszfbzcj879e7app3pa

Sent from my Android L Nexus 5 via Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Ben36 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2014, 07:30 PM   |  #5  
rtotheichie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lexington, SC
Thanks Meter: 128
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
So it would seem "High Accuracy" mode is anything but accurate. I flashed the newest radio (4.4.4r2) and switched to Device Only Location, and it is deadly accurate with almost no lag. Cold start seems to take less time, as well
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes