FORUMS

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Keeps dropping network

23rd August 2014, 12:44 AM |#1  
e4604's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Woke up this morning, no service, keeps saying current network (T-Mobile) is unavailable, the only way it'll work is if I pull sim card out, power it down, reinsert it and start it back up, it'll work fine for about half an hour and drops network again.
I'm running latest mahdi ROM, nothing else modified.
Any help appreciated.
BTW sim card is relatively new( about 5 months old)
 
 
23rd August 2014, 12:52 AM |#2  
spinninbsod's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Try a different ROM and if it still does it RMA the device I was having problems with service to where when I was using data it would decide to switch to h/3g I'm on T-Mobile as well
23rd August 2014, 01:08 AM |#3  
e4604's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Try a different ROM and if it still does it RMA the device I was having problems with service to where when I was using data it would decide to switch to h/3g I'm on T-Mobile as well

Thanks for the suggestion, i don't think its the ROM, but to put my mind and ease and eliminate that possibility I'll flash another ROM tonight.
Btw how does the RMA work? I've never had to go through this before
Thanks
23rd August 2014, 01:12 AM |#4  
spinninbsod's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
If you purchased it through T-Mobile just call T-Mobile and tell them you're having problems with it and just do troubleshooting stuff and if what they say doesent work unroot it and send it back and if you purchased it through google same exact thing
The Following User Says Thank You to spinninbsod For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 02:18 AM |#5  
e4604's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Although I bought it brand new, it wasn't from Google or T-Mobile itself. If I can't rectify this with software I'll have to contact lg and see what they say
23rd August 2014, 10:22 AM |#6  
e4604's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
No bueno, flashed other ROM and currently on stock ROM still having same problem, service drops off rendering phone useless. Emergency calls only is all i get.
Any advice?
23rd August 2014, 11:33 AM |#7  
Member
Flag Singapore-Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Try going to the service menu which you can get into by dialing *#*#4636#*#* in dialer. Go into phone information and try changing this setting:

Name:  1408789862688.jpg
Views: 154
Size:  50.9 KB

Since you're on t mobile I'd recommend trying anything but CDMA. WCDMA is fine though. Maybe one of the options will help solve your connectivity issues.

Personally I'm on WCDMA only when connected to WiFi. This gives me 3G. Otherwise I am on LTE only. GSM should give you 2g.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to kilowatt95 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 05:14 PM |#8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,318
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by e4604

Woke up this morning, no service, keeps saying current network (T-Mobile) is unavailable, the only way it'll work is if I pull sim card out, power it down, reinsert it and start it back up, it'll work fine for about half an hour and drops network again.
I'm running latest mahdi ROM, nothing else modified.
Any help appreciated.
BTW sim card is relatively new( about 5 months old)

Have you tried different modem?
The Following User Says Thank You to Aerowinder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 06:02 AM |#9  
e4604's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Figured it out, in short I got scammed. Called tmobile today, they blacklisted the phone for non payment, I guess the guy that sold it to me hadn't paid it off/paid. I guess lesson learned, call service provider and make sure device is paid off.
It still works with att. At this point I'll sell it as such and or for parts.
Thanks everyone
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes