FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

ear piece stopped working after digitizer swap

1,762 posts
Thanks Meter: 307
 
By Linch89, Senior Member on 28th August 2014, 02:18 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey all looking for help. I cracked my screen and got a replacement screen/digitizer/frame and successfully switched everything to the new chassis. Everything works except for the ear piece. Any tips to getting it to work?
 
 
28th August 2014, 06:16 AM |#2  
chapelfreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonora, Ca
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linch89

Hey all looking for help. I cracked my screen and got a replacement screen/digitizer/frame and successfully switched everything to the new chassis. Everything works except for the ear piece. Any tips to getting it to work?

Make sure that the contacts are lined up right to the motherboard, and make sure those contacts are clean
28th August 2014, 03:15 PM |#3  
Linch89's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville
Thanks Meter: 307
 
More
Thanks! I ordered a replacement anyway it was $9 on amazon. I accidently touched the ear piece with a magnetic screwdriver when I was trying to get screws. Would that fry the ear speaker? There's only one way the ear piece can possibly go that's why I'm confused about why its not working
17th August 2015, 10:35 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Take a look at your old chassis where the old ear piece was there should be a little plastic seat that boosts it up closer to the contacts. You have to transfer that with the earpiece to your new chassis.

This might be a necropost but I figured it might help someone else who is googling with this problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to TechParadoxUSA For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TechParadoxUSA Ad-Free
11th September 2015, 12:19 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It helped me. Thank you for posting!
24th November 2015, 12:17 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechParadoxUSA

Take a look at your old chassis where the old ear piece was there should be a little plastic seat that boosts it up closer to the contacts. You have to transfer that with the earpiece to your new chassis.

This might be a necropost but I figured it might help someone else who is googling with this problem.

Can you order that part as a replacement? I think I got rod of my old chassis before I realized I needed the piece underneath the earpiece.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes