Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Empty status bar

OP habitformer

6th May 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag daytona beach
Thanks Meter: 204
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Is there any way to have a 100% empty status bar,no signal bars of any kind?I am looking for a way do it.I can't seem to kind a way with using immersive mode,which I don't want.I looked for a xposed module and didn't find any.Thanks in advance.
6th May 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,331
 
24,414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by habitformer

Is there any way to have a 100% empty status bar,no signal bars of any kind?I am looking for a way do it.I can't seem to kind a way with using immersive mode,which I don't want.I looked for a xposed module and didn't find any.Thanks in advance.

Just to be clear, why would you rather have a status bar with no status icons instead of simply no status bar at all?
6th May 2014, 11:54 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag daytona beach
Thanks Meter: 204
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Just to be clear, why would you rather have a status bar with no status icons instead of simply no status bar at all?

Personal preference. I want a change.I like immersive mode with pie.It's just not what I want to be honest.I would like it empty and to use a widget to relay the info that would show up.(I.e WiFi signal carrier signal clock )
7th May 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,331
 
24,414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by habitformer

Personal preference. I want a change.I like immersive mode with pie.It's just not what I want to be honest.I would like it empty and to use a widget to relay the info that would show up.(I.e WiFi signal carrier signal clock )

Sorry, I get the "clean look" idea. I just don't understand what the difference is to you to have a clean status bar vs no status bar... I don't see why you would want the former not the latter. Or would completely hiding the status bar be an option too?
7th May 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag daytona beach
Thanks Meter: 204
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Sorry, I get the "clean look" idea. I just don't understand what the difference is to you to have a clean status bar vs no status bar... I don't see why you would want the former not the latter. Or would completely hiding the status bar be an option too?

I would "hide it".I've never really been a widget person,so I'd like to try something new and use a widget to give me all the info normally displayed in the status bar,but I don't want to use something that takes away the keys I added and colored. Any thoughts?
7th May 2014, 12:18 AM   |  #6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,331
 
24,414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by habitformer

I would "hide it".I've never really been a widget person,so I'd like to try something new and use a widget to give me all the info normally displayed in the status bar,but I don't want to use something that takes away the keys I added and colored. Any thoughts?

Widget is only good if you're in the launcher. What about in apps? Some custom laucnhers can hide status bar when you're in launcher (homescreen etc) but then not when in apps. How would that suit?
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 12:35 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag daytona beach
Thanks Meter: 204
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Widget is only good if you're iniconslauncher. What about in apps? Some custom laucnhers can hide status bar when you're in launcher (homescreen etc) but then not when in apps. How would that suit?

I'm one of the small niche groups that actually really G.N.L.I like the functionality of swiping to my left for my cards.I think I had a ROM on my gnex that I was able to hide icons than make status bar transparent.I'll check out a few custom ROMs and see what I can come up with.If not I'll make my own build to suit my needs.won't be the 1st time...thanks for the feed back I was just looking for the cheap way out.
7th May 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #8  
Lokke9191's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glenview, IL
Thanks Meter: 91
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by habitformer

Is there any way to have a 100% empty status bar,no signal bars of any kind?I am looking for a way do it.I can't seem to kind a way with using immersive mode,which I don't want.I looked for a xposed module and didn't find any.Thanks in advance.

Use the xposed module gravity box. And use the display setting called immersive status bar. It'll hide the status bar while keeping your navigation bar. You can keep your colored nav keys, not see the status bar, and you won't have to use pie. If I'm not misunderstanding, that's what you want?
The Following User Says Thank You to Lokke9191 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 03:59 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag daytona beach
Thanks Meter: 204
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokke9191

Use the xposed module gravity box. And use the display setting called immersive status bar. It'll hide the status bar while keeping your navigation bar. You can keep your colored nav keys, not see the status bar, and you won't have to use pie. If I'm not misunderstanding, that's what you want?

Thanks buddy,apparently I missed that set of options in G.B.That's what I was looking for.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes