5,597,397 Members 31,353 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] experiencing greater battery drain on wifi than 3g?

Tip us?
 
hsuuperman
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default [Q] experiencing greater battery drain on wifi than 3g?

So after much trial and error after experiencing heavy battery drain, finally was able to figure out that my wifi was draining my battery faster than when it was on 3g (6% overnight on 3g, than compared to 20% when on home wifi, both under same conditions). Noticed on BBS that when on wifi, the entire time it said that as long as wifi was on, there was a "no connection" and "no or unknown connection" reading. I found this very odd given that my wifi connection at home isn't bad, and I definitely have a connection at home.

Does anyone know why I'm getting greater drain on wifi than on 3g? I thought that generally speaking 3g is more power intensive than wifi. Is this odd BBS reading contributing to my draining battery on wifi? Notice on my battery stats that wifi never dropped all night. Please help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-07-07-31-05.png
Views:	775
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	2502486   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-07-07-35-00.png
Views:	758
Size:	212.0 KB
ID:	2502487   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-08-07-11-23.png
Views:	631
Size:	159.7 KB
ID:	2502488   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-08-07-11-35.png
Views:	595
Size:	217.6 KB
ID:	2502489   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-08-07-11-40.png
Views:	568
Size:	219.6 KB
ID:	2502490  

 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7411
Posts: 17,956
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Except the amount of drain, nothing looks abnormal there. You have "no connection" to your mobile data network (because you're on wifi) so that's normal

Signal strength looks low. Would need logs from bbs really

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
jbdan
Old
#3  
jbdan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 472
Posts: 2,142
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta
Maybe you have gallery or Google+ or another app to sync data only when on WiFi? Or in WiFi settings in advanced settings do you have "scanning always available" checked?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
"The mind set on the Spirit is life and peace" <><
 
simms22
Old
(Last edited by simms22; 8th January 2014 at 05:44 PM.)
#4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 17990
Posts: 22,600
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
ive always gotten more drain on wifi than on 3g(h, h+) or lte. on my ns, gnex, nexus 4, and on my nexus 5. if your data connection is of better quality via mobile instead of wifi, then the mobile connection will be better on battery.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
gbarayah
Old
#5  
gbarayah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 933
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdan View Post
Maybe you have gallery or Google+ or another app to sync data only when on WiFi? Or in WiFi settings in advanced settings do you have "scanning always available" checked?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
THIS.

I found that disabling 'scanning always available' improved my idle battery drain considerably.
LG Nexus 5
ROM: Stock 4.4.2 KOT49H
Kernel: Stock


Retired:
Nexus 4
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
HTC Flyer
HTC Sensation
Kindle Fire
Motorola XT860
HTC Desire Z
HTC Fuze
BB 8100, 8900, 9000
Nokia E71
 
hsuuperman
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
Yup, I've got all those disabled, and Google Now off. Just getting bad drains on wifi. Maybe my wifi signal at home isn't as good as I thought...
 
Ajtaji
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2012
I noticed this with ddwrt on my router, went back to stock Cisco firmware and it went away...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...