Post Reply

[Q] experiencing greater battery drain on wifi than 3g?

OP hsuuperman

8th January 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
So after much trial and error after experiencing heavy battery drain, finally was able to figure out that my wifi was draining my battery faster than when it was on 3g (6% overnight on 3g, than compared to 20% when on home wifi, both under same conditions). Noticed on BBS that when on wifi, the entire time it said that as long as wifi was on, there was a "no connection" and "no or unknown connection" reading. I found this very odd given that my wifi connection at home isn't bad, and I definitely have a connection at home.

Does anyone know why I'm getting greater drain on wifi than on 3g? I thought that generally speaking 3g is more power intensive than wifi. Is this odd BBS reading contributing to my draining battery on wifi? Notice on my battery stats that wifi never dropped all night. Please help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-07-07-31-05.png
Views:	783
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	2502486   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-07-07-35-00.png
Views:	766
Size:	212.0 KB
ID:	2502487   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-08-07-11-23.png
Views:	639
Size:	159.7 KB
ID:	2502488   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-08-07-11-35.png
Views:	603
Size:	217.6 KB
ID:	2502489   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-08-07-11-40.png
Views:	576
Size:	219.6 KB
ID:	2502490  
8th January 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,256
 
23,259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Except the amount of drain, nothing looks abnormal there. You have "no connection" to your mobile data network (because you're on wifi) so that's normal

Signal strength looks low. Would need logs from bbs really

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
8th January 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #3  
jbdan's Avatar
Senior Member
Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 525
 
2,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Maybe you have gallery or Google+ or another app to sync data only when on WiFi? Or in WiFi settings in advanced settings do you have "scanning always available" checked?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th January 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 21,871
 
26,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
ive always gotten more drain on wifi than on 3g(h, h+) or lte. on my ns, gnex, nexus 4, and on my nexus 5. if your data connection is of better quality via mobile instead of wifi, then the mobile connection will be better on battery.
Last edited by simms22; 8th January 2014 at 05:44 PM.
8th January 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #5  
gbarayah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 140
 
931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdan

Maybe you have gallery or Google+ or another app to sync data only when on WiFi? Or in WiFi settings in advanced settings do you have "scanning always available" checked?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

THIS.

I found that disabling 'scanning always available' improved my idle battery drain considerably.
9th January 2014, 12:20 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Yup, I've got all those disabled, and Google Now off. Just getting bad drains on wifi. Maybe my wifi signal at home isn't as good as I thought...
9th January 2014, 02:09 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I noticed this with ddwrt on my router, went back to stock Cisco firmware and it went away...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank