Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[Q] Factory reset with broken screen?

OP gFrenken97

9th June 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Neer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help
9th June 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,267
 
23,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97

So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help

You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?
9th June 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Neer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?

I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!
9th June 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,540
 
10,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97

I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!

Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
9th June 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Neer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

How? Don't I need ADB?
9th June 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,540
 
10,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97

How? Don't I need ADB?

No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
9th June 2014, 03:16 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Neer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thanks, downloading 4.4.3 factory image now!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank