Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,201 Members 51,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Factory reset with broken screen?

Tip us?
 
gFrenken97
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 293
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Default [Q] Factory reset with broken screen?

So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9754
Posts: 20,923
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97 View Post
So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help
You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
gFrenken97
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 293
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?
I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3038
Posts: 9,048
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97 View Post
I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!
Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
gFrenken97
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 293
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
How? Don't I need ADB?
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation
 
jd1639
Old
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3038
Posts: 9,048
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97 View Post
How? Don't I need ADB?
No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
gFrenken97
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 293
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Thanks, downloading 4.4.3 factory image now!
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more