Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Factory reset with broken screen?

9th June 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help
9th June 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,157
 
27,702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97

So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help

You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?
9th June 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?

I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!
9th June 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,387
 
12,381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97

I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!

Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
9th June 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

How? Don't I need ADB?
9th June 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,387
 
12,381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97

How? Don't I need ADB?

No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
9th June 2014, 03:16 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Thanks, downloading 4.4.3 factory image now!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes