Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,458 Members 46,644 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Factory reset with broken screen?

Tip us?
 
gFrenken97
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 294
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Default [Q] Factory reset with broken screen?

So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation
 
rootSU
Old
#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,377
Posts: 22,403
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97 View Post
So I got myself in a situation..

I broke my Nexus 5 so I sold it, but I want to factory reset it because of data security, however I have TWRP installed which doesn't work with using the volume rockers and I can't connect with ABD either because USB debugging is off and I have no way to put it on without using the touchscreen...

Any way to reset it to factory defaults? I tried apps like Androidscreencast but they require ADB too.

Please help
You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
gFrenken97
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 294
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
You can connect to adb whilst in recovery you know?

Also, what about fastboot?
I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,342
Posts: 9,803
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97 View Post
I assume that's the menu you get when you hold power+vol down? I can get into it.
I'm gonna try connect to ADB while in recovery, thanks!
Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
gFrenken97
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 294
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Why don't you just flash the factory image while you're in fastboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
How? Don't I need ADB?
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation
 
jd1639
Old
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,342
Posts: 9,803
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by gFrenken97 View Post
How? Don't I need ADB?
No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
gFrenken97
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 294
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Neer
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
No, just boot into the bootloader. Look in the general forum on how to flash a factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Thanks, downloading 4.4.3 factory image now!
Phone history: LG Shine - LG Viewty - LG POP - Samsung Galaxy Spica - HTC HD2 - Samsung Galaxy SII - Sony Xperia Z - LG Nexus 5
ROM: 4.4.2 stock with Xposed Framework
Next: Sony's 2015 flagship phone
Tablet history: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7'' - Apple iPad 4th generation 32GB Wi-Fi
Next: Sony Xperia Tablet Z / next Nexus 10 generation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more