CM12 Nightlies Hit the Note 4!

If you are eager to get nightly ROM fun on your Note 4, the latest Nightly build of CM12 has just arrived! … more

Pushbullet Available for iPad, Mac and Safari

One of the most useful tools for Android – Pushbullet – found its way to Mac OS X. … more

CyanogenMod 12 Dark Gray Theme

XDA Forum Memberprashantdrewshared one of his awesome themes. Change the look of your CyanogenMod 12 to gray … more

Runhex Runner

Got good reflexes? Check your skills with this classic jump and survive game by XDA Forum Memberdreamhex. Get your fingers … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Failed to Mount Cache

OP darthsentinel

4th June 2014, 01:09 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I was on Android 4.4.2, and was going to sideload the 4.4.3 update. I went into recovery, moved one step below the sideload update option, and landed on clear cache. My volume up button wouldn't take me back up to the ADB Sideload option, so I figured clearing the cache would bring me back up to the top. The phone was stuck on the "Wiping cache..." loading bar for 20 minutes until I finally force rebooted it. On completing the reboot, my phone wouldn't connect to the cell network, and all of my gapps crashed. I tried going back into recovery, and got errors saying;

E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
E:can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

I really don't know how to go forward from here, so I'm hoping somebody can point me in the right direction. Thanks!
4th June 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,294
 
3,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsentinel

I was on Android 4.4.2, and was going to sideload the 4.4.3 update. I went into recovery, moved one step below the sideload update option, and landed on clear cache. My volume up button wouldn't take me back up to the ADB Sideload option, so I figured clearing the cache would bring me back up to the top. The phone was stuck on the "Wiping cache..." loading bar for 20 minutes until I finally force rebooted it. On completing the reboot, my phone wouldn't connect to the cell network, and all of my gapps crashed. I tried going back into recovery, and got errors saying;

E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
E:can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

I really don't know how to go forward from here, so I'm hoping somebody can point me in the right direction. Thanks!

If bootloader is unlocked, try flashing the cache file from the ktu84m package.
The Following User Says Thank You to Aerowinder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerowinder

If bootloader is unlocked, try flashing the cache file from the ktu84m package.

Sadly, the bootloader is locked.
4th June 2014, 02:00 AM   |  #4  
qbanlinxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 228
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
This same thing happened to me the other day. I ended up having to reflash the factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
4th June 2014, 05:40 AM   |  #5  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,455
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
the cache partition got messed up because you didn't let it finish the cache formatting process.

Head over to the stock recovery and keep formatting the cache partition few times.. If it gives the same error, erase it again!

I've faced similar errors and formatting cache a few times solved it!

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
4th June 2014, 07:32 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Happen to me this morning as well. Just let be until completed. Should take approximately 10-15 minutes. Be patient.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes