Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Failed to Mount Cache

4th June 2014, 12:09 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I was on Android 4.4.2, and was going to sideload the 4.4.3 update. I went into recovery, moved one step below the sideload update option, and landed on clear cache. My volume up button wouldn't take me back up to the ADB Sideload option, so I figured clearing the cache would bring me back up to the top. The phone was stuck on the "Wiping cache..." loading bar for 20 minutes until I finally force rebooted it. On completing the reboot, my phone wouldn't connect to the cell network, and all of my gapps crashed. I tried going back into recovery, and got errors saying;

E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
E:can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

I really don't know how to go forward from here, so I'm hoping somebody can point me in the right direction. Thanks!
4th June 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,307
 
3,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsentinel

I was on Android 4.4.2, and was going to sideload the 4.4.3 update. I went into recovery, moved one step below the sideload update option, and landed on clear cache. My volume up button wouldn't take me back up to the ADB Sideload option, so I figured clearing the cache would bring me back up to the top. The phone was stuck on the "Wiping cache..." loading bar for 20 minutes until I finally force rebooted it. On completing the reboot, my phone wouldn't connect to the cell network, and all of my gapps crashed. I tried going back into recovery, and got errors saying;

E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
E:can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

I really don't know how to go forward from here, so I'm hoping somebody can point me in the right direction. Thanks!

If bootloader is unlocked, try flashing the cache file from the ktu84m package.
The Following User Says Thank You to Aerowinder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 12:59 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Providence
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerowinder

If bootloader is unlocked, try flashing the cache file from the ktu84m package.

Sadly, the bootloader is locked.
4th June 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #4  
qbanlinxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 240
 
766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
This same thing happened to me the other day. I ended up having to reflash the factory image

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
4th June 2014, 04:40 AM   |  #5  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,460
 
4,238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
the cache partition got messed up because you didn't let it finish the cache formatting process.

Head over to the stock recovery and keep formatting the cache partition few times.. If it gives the same error, erase it again!

I've faced similar errors and formatting cache a few times solved it!

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
4th June 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Happen to me this morning as well. Just let be until completed. Should take approximately 10-15 minutes. Be patient.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes