Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

F#!K You 'G' connection!!

OP Ben36

11th March 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #1  
Ben36's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,861
 
6,402 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Now I'm assuming (and pretty sure) data connection in terms of speed order goes - E, G, 3G, H, 4G
Is that right?

If so why when on 'G' does nothing load but on 'E' stuff does load (slowly of course)

It's doing my head in

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th March 2014, 08:02 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Cullompton
Thanks Meter: 101
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
G is slower than E

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to pepdavies For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #3  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,442
 
4,229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hello,

G is slower... The order is:

G = 1g
2g
E = 2.5g
3g
H+ = 3.5g
4g

Correct me if I'm wrong.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #4  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hull
Thanks Meter: 638
 
1,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
As above. G is lower than E
Mine sits on H and changes to H+ when using data.
Yours will be sitting on G and using E for data

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 06:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:08 PM ----------

The order is G(GPRS), E(edge/2G), 3G, H(HSPA), H+(HSPA+), (DC-HSPA+)(your phone won't show this), 4G(LTE)

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Alex240188 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,327
 
24,414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

Hello,

G is slower... The order is:

G = 1g
2g
E = 2.5g
3g
H+ = 3.5g
4g

Correct me if I'm wrong.

GPRS is 2G. 1G was GSM WAP

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #6  
Ben36's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,861
 
6,402 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Ah so that makes sense! I had it backwards in my head.

Still nothing ever loads tho on it. Presumably because it's just pointless it's that slow

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
11th March 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #7  
dkconor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Peterborough
Thanks Meter: 40
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben36

Ah so that makes sense! I had it backwards in my head.

Still nothing ever loads tho on it. Presumably because it's just pointless it's that slow

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I'm with O2. Their 2G is painfully slow its laughable. I can't load web pages on it. Their 3G provides me with an incredibly fast 0.2mbps and it'll be years before I see O2 4G anywhere near I live.

I can't wait to move to Three. Their coverage where I live seems to be good, and they're planning to bring 4G to two main towns < 20 minutes away from me so thumbs up for them.

Sent from my Nexus 5
11th March 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Cullompton
Thanks Meter: 101
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
I moved from giffgaff to 3. My data speeds are ten times what they were. The coverage is surprisingly good, even indoors.

Sent from my Nexus 5
11th March 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #9  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hull
Thanks Meter: 638
 
1,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
3 seems to be the best for me.
With o2 I also got less than 0.2mbs download.
Vodafone wasn't much better.
Usually get about 4-5mbs on 3.
Had to go to Leeds for work at weekend and picked up the tiniest 4g signal (0-1 bars) and was getting 15mbs can't wait for LTE rollout in my city this year

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
12th March 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,327
 
24,414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I can get 20 mbps on three using H+ from time to time. No LTE yet

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes