Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,535 Members 39,923 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

F#!K You 'G' connection!!

Tip us?
 
Ben36
Old
#1  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1570
Posts: 5,712
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default F#!K You 'G' connection!!

Now I'm assuming (and pretty sure) data connection in terms of speed order goes - E, G, 3G, H, 4G
Is that right?

If so why when on 'G' does nothing load but on 'E' stuff does load (slowly of course)

It's doing my head in

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
pepdavies
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 234
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cullompton
G is slower than E

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to pepdavies For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vin4yak
Old
#3  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1935
Posts: 3,383
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Hello,

G is slower... The order is:

G = 1g
2g
E = 2.5g
3g
H+ = 3.5g
4g

Correct me if I'm wrong.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Alex240188
Old
#4  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 633
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hull
As above. G is lower than E
Mine sits on H and changes to H+ when using data.
Yours will be sitting on G and using E for data

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 06:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:08 PM ----------

The order is G(GPRS), E(edge/2G), 3G, H(HSPA), H+(HSPA+), (DC-HSPA+)(your phone won't show this), 4G(LTE)

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Alex240188 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootSU
Old
#5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10063
Posts: 21,191
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak View Post
Hello,

G is slower... The order is:

G = 1g
2g
E = 2.5g
3g
H+ = 3.5g
4g

Correct me if I'm wrong.
GPRS is 2G. 1G was GSM WAP

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ben36
Old
#6  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1570
Posts: 5,712
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ah so that makes sense! I had it backwards in my head.

Still nothing ever loads tho on it. Presumably because it's just pointless it's that slow

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
dkconor
Old
#7  
dkconor's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 98
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben36 View Post
Ah so that makes sense! I had it backwards in my head.

Still nothing ever loads tho on it. Presumably because it's just pointless it's that slow

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
I'm with O2. Their 2G is painfully slow its laughable. I can't load web pages on it. Their 3G provides me with an incredibly fast 0.2mbps and it'll be years before I see O2 4G anywhere near I live.

I can't wait to move to Three. Their coverage where I live seems to be good, and they're planning to bring 4G to two main towns < 20 minutes away from me so thumbs up for them.

Sent from my Nexus 5


User
  • Android 4.4.4 KitKat
  • Stock ROM / Stock Kernel
 
pepdavies
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 234
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cullompton
I moved from giffgaff to 3. My data speeds are ten times what they were. The coverage is surprisingly good, even indoors.

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
Alex240188
Old
#9  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 633
Posts: 1,000
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hull
3 seems to be the best for me.
With o2 I also got less than 0.2mbs download.
Vodafone wasn't much better.
Usually get about 4-5mbs on 3.
Had to go to Leeds for work at weekend and picked up the tiniest 4g signal (0-1 bars) and was getting 15mbs can't wait for LTE rollout in my city this year

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
 
rootSU
Old
#10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10063
Posts: 21,191
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
I can get 20 mbps on three using H+ from time to time. No LTE yet

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes