CyanogenMod 12.1 for YU Yureka

YU Yureka recently received an official Cyanogen OS 12S update. If you prefer to use a newer revision of … more

Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] After flash purity rom , it takes forever to first boot up?

5th December 2013, 02:51 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Already wipe Factory data, successfully flash purity ROM and gaps. After reboot. It stuck on the logo for 20 mins..... .and now still loading....

I already reboot the phone. Re flash the ROM again twice but the same thing happened

It's it normal? ?
 
 
5th December 2013, 03:22 PM |#2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Finally it takes over 50 mins but still in the four color circles.... I reboot and restore backup from cwm. (Lucky I backup before flash!!)

I am running on stock rom with franco r16 kernel.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th December 2013, 06:02 PM |#3  
galaxys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas & Cosmos
Thanks Meter: 708
 
8,461 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I did not have a issue flashing latest purity clean install. Maybe a bad download/md5...
5th December 2013, 10:21 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
A bad download can finish installation also ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th December 2013, 10:32 PM |#5  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,863
 
29,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
did you wipe data/factory reset before flashing? you have to..
6th December 2013, 12:18 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
First install was a dirty flash but second time already wiped.
Do I need to wipe dalvik cache also ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
6th December 2013, 01:21 AM |#7  
galaxys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas & Cosmos
Thanks Meter: 708
 
8,461 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Yes if you only did Data...
6th December 2013, 02:39 AM |#8  
xBeerdroiDx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 1,611
 
2,355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
if you were already on purity than a dirty flash will suffice.

if you were not on purity then you need to perform a full wipe (data, system, dalvik, cache).

EDIT: i had typed full backup above. i obviously meant full wipe.
Last edited by xBeerdroiDx; 6th December 2013 at 04:30 AM.
6th December 2013, 03:49 AM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Thx .
So I need to "wipe data / factory reset" & "wipe dalvik cache " in cwm recovery , then flash new purity rom

Will it erase my files in sd storage ? eg mp3, jpeg movies ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
6th December 2013, 04:33 AM |#10  
xBeerdroiDx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 1,611
 
2,355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by patkylie

Thx .
So I need to "wipe data / factory reset" & "wipe dalvik cache " in cwm recovery , then flash new purity rom

Will it erase my files in sd storage ? eg mp3, jpeg movies ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

make a backup. make sure you have a copy of everything you want to save/keep on your computer. full wipe (twrp = data, system, dalvik, cache. cwm = wipe data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik, format /system). flash rom and gapps.

when you're coming from the stock firmware or a different rom, you have to perform a full wipe before flashing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes