Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] After flash purity rom , it takes forever to first boot up?

OP patkylie

5th December 2013, 03:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Already wipe Factory data, successfully flash purity ROM and gaps. After reboot. It stuck on the logo for 20 mins..... .and now still loading....

I already reboot the phone. Re flash the ROM again twice but the same thing happened

It's it normal? ?
5th December 2013, 04:22 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Finally it takes over 50 mins but still in the four color circles.... I reboot and restore backup from cwm. (Lucky I backup before flash!!)

I am running on stock rom with franco r16 kernel.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th December 2013, 07:02 PM   |  #3  
galaxys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas & Cosmos
Thanks Meter: 624
 
8,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I did not have a issue flashing latest purity clean install. Maybe a bad download/md5...
5th December 2013, 11:21 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
A bad download can finish installation also ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
5th December 2013, 11:32 PM   |  #5  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,494
 
26,801 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
did you wipe data/factory reset before flashing? you have to..
6th December 2013, 01:18 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
First install was a dirty flash but second time already wiped.
Do I need to wipe dalvik cache also ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
6th December 2013, 02:21 AM   |  #7  
galaxys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas & Cosmos
Thanks Meter: 624
 
8,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Yes if you only did Data...
6th December 2013, 03:39 AM   |  #8  
xBeerdroiDx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 1,469
 
2,331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
if you were already on purity than a dirty flash will suffice.

if you were not on purity then you need to perform a full wipe (data, system, dalvik, cache).

EDIT: i had typed full backup above. i obviously meant full wipe.
Last edited by xBeerdroiDx; 6th December 2013 at 05:30 AM.
6th December 2013, 04:49 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Thx .
So I need to "wipe data / factory reset" & "wipe dalvik cache " in cwm recovery , then flash new purity rom

Will it erase my files in sd storage ? eg mp3, jpeg movies ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
6th December 2013, 05:33 AM   |  #10  
xBeerdroiDx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 1,469
 
2,331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by patkylie

Thx .
So I need to "wipe data / factory reset" & "wipe dalvik cache " in cwm recovery , then flash new purity rom

Will it erase my files in sd storage ? eg mp3, jpeg movies ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

make a backup. make sure you have a copy of everything you want to save/keep on your computer. full wipe (twrp = data, system, dalvik, cache. cwm = wipe data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik, format /system). flash rom and gapps.

when you're coming from the stock firmware or a different rom, you have to perform a full wipe before flashing.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes