FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] Force mobile frequency

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Avocado123, Junior Member on 19th June 2014, 09:03 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Is there a way to force the phone to use 850mhz band frequency?

Thanks!
 
 
19th June 2014, 09:45 AM |#2  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,162
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avocado123

Is there a way to force the phone to use 850mhz band frequency?

Thanks!

What do you mean "force"? Is your network broadcasting on 2 frequencies and one is better than the other?
19th June 2014, 10:17 AM |#3  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,681
 
More
You could threaten it with being replaced by an iPhone?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Ben36 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 11:13 AM |#4  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,162
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben36

You could threaten it with being replaced by an iPhone?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I think it would laugh at you and say "try it if you dare"
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2014, 12:03 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

What do you mean "force"? Is your network broadcasting on 2 frequencies and one is better than the other?

My carrier frequencies are 1800mhz for GSM, and 850+2100mhz for UMTS.
I have heard that 850mhz, is better for building where the reception is weak becuase it passes better through walls.

Is there a way to control or at least check which frequency is my phone currently using?

Thanks!
20th June 2014, 01:15 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Timisoara
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
I think it already does the switching on its own. Might not work perfectly, but at least it doesn't get into situations where it's left out because all the places on the 850 MHz frequency are taken.
20th June 2014, 06:30 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 454
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_loft

I think it already does the switching on its own. Might not work perfectly, but at least it doesn't get into situations where it's left out because all the places on the 850 MHz frequency are taken.

This. You won't be doing yourself any favors by avoiding 2100Mhz which may be the best connection at one point in time, despite the inherit benefits of shorter wave frequencies.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes