Post Reply

[Q] Freezing and rebooting?

OP Sonic Offline

19th February 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #1  
Sonic Offline's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
It's happened several times in the past three weeks, seemingly at random. I'll either be texting or playing a game, and boom. Phone goes unresponsive for about 4 seconds and the boot animation pops up. Sure enough, it's reset.


I have no idea how to get logs or I'd post them. Googling around at the time of this post.


Nexus 5, black, 16g, AT&T and (rooted) stock ROM.
19th February 2014, 11:31 PM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 21,935
 
26,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic Offline

It's happened several times in the past three weeks, seemingly at random. I'll either be texting or playing a game, and boom. Phone goes unresponsive for about 4 seconds and the boot animation pops up. Sure enough, it's reset.


I have no idea how to get logs or I'd post them. Googling around at the time of this post.


Nexus 5, black, 16g, AT&T and (rooted) stock ROM.

you are undervolting?
19th February 2014, 11:31 PM   |  #3  
Sonic Offline's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

you are undervolting?

Not to my knowledge. If I am it's because an app I installed did it.

How can I check to be sure?
19th February 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 21,935
 
26,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic Offline

Not to my knowledge. If I am it's because an app I installed did it.

How can I check to be sure?

if you didnt personally undervolt, than you are not. does it hapoen when using a certain game or app?
19th February 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #5  
Sonic Offline's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

if you didnt personally undervolt, than you are not. does it hapoen when using a certain game or app?

It's happened 4 or 5 times with Hangouts, at least once with Chrome and I don't recall what I was doing for the rest, I just made note of it resetting when I didn't intentionally turn it off myself.
20th February 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #6  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 196
 
804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
What kernel are you using?

Try factory reset fixes 98% of problems
20th February 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #7  
Sonic Offline's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller

What kernel are you using?

Try factory reset fixes 98% of problems

Would there be a quick way to restore my phone to the condition it's in (preferably without the hangups)? Because I'd like to avoid that option if possible.

I pulled a logcat off my phone (and let it run for quite some time, 77k lines. Eesh) and there's a few warnings that kept popping up that I don't know how to decipher since I'm not an Android developer.

-[edit]-

Sorry, stock kernel. Only non-stock thing I've done is root it and installed few apps that either need or work better with root permissions.
Last edited by Sonic Offline; 20th February 2014 at 06:23 PM.
21st February 2014, 04:20 AM   |  #8  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 196
 
804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I find it odd that the phone would do this randomly considering you are running stock ROM and kernel and all you did was root. With that being said a factory reset is your best option. Use titanium backup or helium.

What method did you use to root?
22nd February 2014, 03:12 AM   |  #9  
Sonic Offline's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller

I find it odd that the phone would do this randomly considering you are running stock ROM and kernel and all you did was root. With that being said a factory reset is your best option. Use titanium backup or helium.

What method did you use to root?

I honestly don't remember which method I used. lul.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank